Motivation

Hi Everyone,

I decided to write today about motivation. As we all know, there are times when we feel motivated for action, to work, to get on with things… And there are times we feel unmotivated.

Quite a lot recently I have been feeling rather unmotivated. This could be due to the mood I’m in, the stresses of my life or the fact I just didn’t sleep very well.

So as a writer the unmotivated times are not easy. You ask yourself questions, why am I unmotivated today? What would I rather be doing instead? How do I make myself more motivated?

Well there isn’t a right or wrong answer to how you become motivated, as different techniques work for different people.

For some, a simple walk in the fresh air is enough, for others just sitting down and powering through works just as well.

For me it’s a mixture, I find music is a great motivator for me, so I put my music up loud and just sit listening to it for a while. I open my working story and start to let my mind reflect about what I’ve written so far; am I happy with it? Does this section need more information, action, romance? How does this character feel? Etc. I find before I know it I’ve drifted into my own author world and I’ve written another handful of pages and I am more than a little motivated.

However, I have found if I write when I am not fully motivated I produce rubbish! I end up re-writing it again when I am motivated; reproducing the work I did before. So I have found if I am unmotivated but have ideas… The best thing for me to do is to put them down as bullet points for me to develop later and I take the “day off” from writing.

What sorts of things do you all use to battle against the unmotivated feeling?

Enjoy 🙂

 

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.
3 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. I have always found that re-emphasizing to yourself the reasons for doing the particular task can help a lot
    For example remembering that a task well done at work will give you ‘brownie points’ with your boss or simply the buzz you will get from knowing you have achieved your goal
    If all else fails then the thought that once it is done you’ll no longer need to think about doing it may suffice 😀

  2. If I’m not motivated, I don’t write. I can’t force myself to write if I don’t really feel like it. I’ll go out and mow the lawn or go for a walk to the lake. Usually, once I’ve finished something physical – I feel like writing. But that’s just me 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment.
      That is very sensible Dianne. I do agree with you… If my brain isn’t in it then I can’t write. Sounds like you live in a lovely scenic area, you must get a lot of inspiration from there. 🙂

Please leave a comment

