Sleep

Example of dark circles

Example of dark circles (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi Everyone!

I hope you are all having a nice week.

I thought I’d write about sleep in this post.

“Why is that?”

Because I haven’t been getting any!

I am the type of person who loves sleep and to relax in the comfort of my bed. I go to bed early (9pm ish), and on weekends get up late (10am).

During the week I get up at around 06:30am every day, so I try to go to bed around 9-10pm to get my eight hours sleep, or thereabouts.

However, recently I have been struggling. It was due to the hot weather, it made it very sticky and uncomfortable to sleep, even with the windows open & the fan on.

But now the weather has cooled down and still I am finding I am restless and uncomfortable at night.

Also, I seem to be having very weird dreams, a lot of them I can’t remember when I wake up. They too are making me toss and turn and wake up.

Before you ask, no I’ve not been eating cheese or chocolate before bed-time. 🙂

My lack of sleep is making me feel very low, grumpy, fed-up and not an easy person to talk to. Plus my concentration is at an all time low, so my work is suffering and my editing is going nowhere!

Anyone got any suggestions on how to improve my sleep?

🙂

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.

13 thoughts on “Sleep

  1. Are you relaxed when you go to bed as that does help, maybe go for a walk before bed , a casual stroll to clear your head this used to work for my friend.
    Also a doctor told me that a bad diet will make you restless at bedtime , remember when i went on meat and veg diet I was sleeping much better. Need to get back on it I think xx

  2. I use to have bad nights before I moved my bed to another position in the room (worth a try).

    Also I find a warm drink (maybe milk or hot chocolate) makes me sleep better

    I really hope things improve for you 🙂

  3. Sleep has been a tricky catch over in these parts as well! I’ve always been a night owl (usually going to bed around 1-2am) but the past month or so has found me completely nocturnal. Try getting anything done after 8pm in a small town!
    I hope you find your sleep soon, I know how hard it can be to get your brain to engage when it’s in a tired fog 🙂

  4. Aww, it sucks that you’re unable to sleep! I find I can’t sleep when it’s hot either (and it’s still hot here). My fiancé recommended Melatonin to me, but I’m uncomfortable about using meds for sleeping. You could try to avoid consuming caffeinated things during the day and see if that works for you!

  5. Pingback: Working When You Want to Sleep | Roots to Blossom

Please leave a comment

