73 days to go!

Christmas in the post-War United States

Hey Everyone,

I have been having a very busy week with work this week so apologies for not being more interactive. Also, I have been struggling against tiredness, so my book work has been put on hold this week. 😦

Due to my mushy brain I thought I would write about Christmas!

There are only 73 days to go – who is excited?

My mum shocked a lot of people the other day as she put on her Facebook status, that she has completed her Christmas shopping!

She received a lot of responses from people expressing their jealousy at her pre-planning and thanking her for boasting. It was a laugh to read them.

I must admit I was rather jealous, but I am half way through mine so I am further ahead than some. I tend to start my Christmas shopping early because there are a lot of birthdays around this time as well and so December becomes a very expensive month for me! My birthday included 🙂

The older I grow the stranger Christmas becomes for me. I still get excited, I still enjoy watching the Christmas movies on TV and love opening presents. My mum still makes me a stocking and my twin and I make her one in return.

I still get up extremely early! But I have been restricted by my mum and sister that I cannot wake them up until 8am/9am. As I wake about 6am this is a long time to wait, with my stocking outside my door not being able to jump on mum’s bed and open it.

Yes Christmas time makes me feel like a big kid again and frankly I think that’s a great thing. When else do we adults get to let our hair down and be childish again?

On the plus side of being an adult at Christmas, I am allowed to drink as much Mulled Wine as I can! I absolutely love the stuff, all warm and fruity 🙂 Yum yum.

What do you do for Christmas? Which is your favourite part of Christmas?

🙂

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.
10 thoughts on “73 days to go!

  1. i love all of christmas especially watching my girls and granchildren opening their presents , and the games we buy to play x

  2. I love Christmas! I’m a big decorator over here, so I love pulling out all of the decorations – the wreaths and baubles and stockings. Not to mention the smell of all the yummy baking and cooking, mixed with the Christmas tree…some eggnog, a fire in the fireplace, and a Christmas movie on the TV. 🙂 Now you’ve got me counting down the days as well!!

  3. I have started a list of things I want to get people but I need to find the time to go shopping and there is something about actually getting out to the shops that makes me feel like it is Christmas and for me that has to be done after Halloween and bonfire night.

    I love the comment about Christmas day, I too still get a stocking and normally have to get my brother out of bed to open them with a coffee. We then cannot open our main presents until the house is tidy, breakfast is eaten and put away and the dogs have been walked. Oh and we normally have a glass (or 2) of buzz fizz.

    • Well a list is a great start! At least your planning it 🙂

      Yes I know what you mean, I don’t tend to get in the Christmassy mood until after both of those too. Having said that, shops start playing Christmas music so early it’s like Christmas lasts forever!

      Haha I can’t help it, even when I am at my boyfriends house, I still wake up so early. It wouldn’t be Christmas for me if I didn’t 🙂

      Gosh that’s a long time to wait, we normally open our stockings on my mums bed, like we did as kids. Then we get changed and make breakfast then open presents 🙂

  4. I don’t think you ever get too old for Christmas.
    Situations change and people grow but everyone gets excited and anxious even if they don’t care to admit it.
    I love spoiling my GF and it is always a great feeling to see somebody unwrap the perfect gift from you.
    Everyone loves to receive and we should all try to give all we can.
    To me Christmas is a carefree time when all your problems go to one side and you enjoy the love and excitement shared with your family.

Please leave a comment

