Facts

Jack-o-lantern

Jack-o-lantern (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi Everyone,

How was your weekend? Looking forward to Halloween?

I am a bit of a scrooge when it comes to Halloween, I don’t decorate the house, I turn all the lights off and pretend I’m not in! Mainly because the kids costumes are getting better around my area and I get scared answering the door! Although I do still buy sweets hehe

So in my scrooge fashion here is a post not related to Halloween 🙂

The other day I was reminded about some useless facts I know, so thought I’d share them with you guys.

  • Yawning doesn’t mean you are tired, it means you have a lack of oxygen to the brain.
  • Your nose never stops growing (living Pinocchio’s!)
  • Your forearm is the same length as your foot! (I can see you trying to measure 😉 )
  • You can’t lick your own elbow (stop trying you’ll hurt yourself hehe 🙂 )
  • Rubber bands last longer after being refrigerated
  • Peanuts are one of the ingredients of dynamite.
  • There are 293 ways to make change for a dollar.
  • The average secretary’s left hand does 56% of the typing.
  • A shark is the only fish that can blink with both eyes.
  • There are more chickens than people in the world (Quick the chickens are attacking!).
  • All 50 states are listed across the top of the Lincoln Memorial on the back of the $5 bill.
  • Almonds are members of the peach family.
  • A cat has 32 muscles in each ear.
  • An ostrich’s eye is bigger than its brain.
  • Tigers have striped skin, not just striped fur.
  • In most advertisements, including newspapers, the time displayed on a watch is 10:10.
  • The microwave was invented after a researcher walked by a radar tube and a chocolate bar melted in his pocket.
  • The average person falls asleep in seven minutes.
  • Elephants can’t jump.  Every other mammal can.

There are so many more! Go and check them out at http://www.laughbreak.com/lists/useless_facts.html , plus thank you to the makers of that site for their help on adding to this list 🙂

Don’t forget to let me know your questions and comments for the Author Profile with Zen on Friday 02nd November.

🙂

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.
7 thoughts on “Facts

  1. I love me some random facts! Thanks for sharing 🙂 What fun. And it’s true, my foot really IS the same size of my forearm! Although I did see a woman on an episode of QI who could lick her own elbow. I still can’t…

Please leave a comment

