Author Profile – Puppet Parade

Hi Everyone,

Here is the second in my Author Profiling posts! Please welcome Zeniab Alayan!

She is a blogger you may all know. Her posts are great and always enjoyable.

So today I thought I would share this new author with you all.

Puppet Parade by Zeinab Alayan

Puppet Parade by Zeinab Alayan

Title: Puppet Parade

Author: Zeinab Alayan

Genre: Fantasy
Blurb:
The life of a puppet master is never ordinary. Oliver Deere knew this when he ran away from home to take up the trade of puppetry, but he had no idea just how much his life would change. After his puppets come to life and flee town, Oliver meets up with a masked girl who hides a mysterious past.

As they travel together in search for Oliver’s lost puppets, they find that the line between puppet and master is becoming much less clear – and much more deadly. 

When Oliver and his companion enter the strange world of The Parade, they begin to realise that their journey will lead them to discover the truth behind a dangerous villain’s path, and in the end, discover more about each other.

Release Date: Published April 18th
Where to buy:  Paperback (Lulu) | Kindle | ePub | iBookstore | NOOK |Smashwords

 “This beautifully written book is full of inventiveness, emotion, and clever re-examinations of a host of fantasy ideas. This is a modern adult fairy story, which draws on so many classic themes and cultural tales that it is difficult to guess which ones were originally uppermost in Alayan’s mind.” – Richard Bunning, Author of Another Space in Time


“This book is really a page turner from start to finish. The characters leap out of the pages and the plot is amazingly well written with so many twists and turns and that even a hard-core reader would be able to feel surprised.”
 – Cassy


“This book would make a PERFECT Tim Burton movie, seriously… I want him to read this and make it because in my opinion he is the only man to do it justice by bringing to life this fantastical world that the author has created which is so imaginative and stunning that it deserves some visualisation.”
 – Melanie (Book Passion for Life)

Mini Interview:

1.      What first drew you to writing?

I believe it was reading. I’ve enjoyed reading from a young age. I loved stories and my weekly treat was often a new story book, not candy. Eventually I realised that I could write my own stories too, and it all started from there. My first story was about a rabbit!

 2.      What gave you the inspiration for Puppet Parade?

I actually have no idea. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) was approaching and I was desperate for ideas, but all I had was a girl who wore a mask and had no idea what she looked like. So I started with that and slowly all the story came together.

 3.      Where were you when you first come up with this story idea?

I don’t remember really… probably my house? It could’ve been in the bathroom. For some reason I always get my ideas in there, haha.

 4.      What made you decide you wanted the world to share in your work?

Even though I write primarily for my own self, I still like it when others read and enjoy my work. I used to write fanfiction before, and the reviews always delighted me. It was always nice to hear that I’d touched someone’s heart or made them laugh or even cry, so I thought, “Why not try my hand at original fiction and see how that works for me?” and well, here we are. 🙂

 5.      Who did you decide to publish with?

I published using several sites. I used Lulu for print books (which also distributed to Amazon, B&N and the iBookstore), and Amazon and Smashwords for eBooks.

 6.      Why did you choose them?

Well, I chose Lulu because of the great options it offers. You get a variety of sizes and paper and cover types, and I’m always left pleased with the end result. As for Smashwords and Amazon, well… I noticed that all the cool indie authors were doing it, so I jumped on the bandwagon! Besides, as an indie author, I recognize that most of my sales will be in the form of eBooks, so it would be silly to ignore that market.

 7.      What has your experience been like with them?

It’s been good! Lulu is a bit troublesome when it comes to reviewing content, but otherwise it’s fine. Amazon has been peachy, but Smashwords has left me feeling quite frustrated over formatting. I’ve had to edit the formatting of my book several times, and each time it gets rejected. It’s currently being reviewed for the… seventh time maybe? So we’ll see how that goes! :-/

 8.      Where is your favourite place to write?

At my desk. I need to have my laptop placed in front of me on a flat surface, as in, I can’t write properly if it’s on my lap or something.

 9.      What are your likes and dislikes about being a self-published author?

 What I like the most is that I have total freedom. I can write whatever I want and go with the cover I want, and nobody can force me to do something I don’t like. However, self-publishing is difficult. You get to be the publisher, the editor, the cover designer, the marketer… and that’s all at your personal expense.

10. I hear you have another book ready, “The Muse Bunny” when will this be released?

I’m thinking probably in the first half of 2013. I still have to edit it, have a cover designed and create some buzz for it before releasing it in the market. 🙂

11. Can you tell us a bit about this book?

The Muse Bunny is a very special project that’s dear to my heart. It took over four years to complete, but I’m pleased with the way it turned out. It’s about an invisible muse in the shape of a bunny. Muse bunnies in general provide assistance to writers, but the one in my story is a rotten egg, and would rather kill the writer it latched itself onto rather than see her write the next bestseller. The book follows the evil bunny’s antics and how the writer manages to deal with it all. It may sound cutesy, but it actually does have some dark elements and serious themes.

Wow this new book sounds rather exciting! Thank you so much for sharing all this with us.

Also, just like before please remember to leave Zen some feedback. This is her first novel and she would really appreciate all the honest comments you can all provide.

If you have any questions or suggestions for Zen please write them in the comments section below.

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.
10 thoughts on “Author Profile – Puppet Parade

  1. Pingback: Author Profile – Puppet Parade « Ask Fuzzy

  2. Haha, I always get my best ideas in the bathroom too! Usually while I’m washing my hair 😛

    And what a great author profile, as well. I haven’t read The Puppet Parade yet, but now I’m even more interested! Looking forward to The Muse Bunny coming out too. Congratulations Zen, they sound like such creative and imaginative works!

  3. Pingback: A little self-promotion never hurt anyone. | Zen Scribbles

Please leave a comment

