Author Profile – Zooey and Her Soldier

Hi Everyone,

Here is the third in my Author Profiling posts! Please welcome Andrea Kelly!

She is a blogger too as you may all know. Her posts are always enjoyable.

So here is another new author to share with you all.

Zooey and Her Solider - Andrea Kelly

Zooey and Her Solider – Andrea Kelly

Title: Zooey and Her Soldier

Author: Andrea Kelly

Genre: Children’s Literature
Blurb:

“Zooey’s best friend, Doug, is in The National Guard.  Sometimes he has to go away for a little while.  When he’s gone, Zooey misses him a lot.  She can’t wait for him to get back!  But Zooey’s about to discover something – something that will make the wait much, much easier!”

Release Date: April 20, 2012
Where to buy:  The Official Site OR on Etsy

Here is a list of all her books & where to buy them:

Mini Interview:

1.      When did you first start writing?

I’ve been writing for most of my life, actually.  I had a pretty active imagination as a child that I utilized a lot, writing stories that mostly went unfinished.  I stopped writing as much after high school, but picked it up again about 2 years ago when I had the idea for the mystery novel I’m working on currently, The Cold Case Files of Jane Cross.

2.      What drew you to writing?

I’m not really sure, maybe it was a love of stories and reading, or perhaps it was more genetic.  The arts and writing in particular have been very important in my family, and my mom really instilled those values in me.

 3.      When did you know you wanted to write for children?

When I got my cats back in 2006/2007 they started giving me all sorts of inspiration.  Friends and family often encouraged me to write a book about their antics, but I didn’t have any concrete plans at the time.  When a friend joined the National Guard and left for basic training however, my cat Zooey who was particularly attached to him missed him a lot. I think that’s really what prompted me to start the series, and to write the book Zooey and Her Soldier about that experience, thinking it could be helpful to children with parents or family members in the military.

 4.      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

The inspiration comes from my cats Baseball and Zooey.  They are total characters, and are always up to something adorable and amusing.  Every day with the two of them is an adventure.

 5.      Who did you decide to publish with?

I’m self-published at the moment, and I use the site TheBookPatch.com to do the cover and page formatting as well as the printing.

 6.      Why did you choose them?

Their site is simple, easy to use, and affordable.  It also doesn’t have a page requirement – like programs such as CreateSpace, which won’t publish books with less than something like 25 pages – and that’s nice because Children’s Books often fall short of that limit.

 7.      What has your experience been like with them?

So far, very good!  It’s always a process figuring out the formatting and how to create covers when you’re starting out on a new site, but their program is fairly straight-forward.  The only complaint I have at the moment is that there is not an option to create an e-book, but I hear that’s something that’s in the works.

 8.      Where is your favourite place to write?

I don’t have a favourite place really; I tend to just write wherever the inspiration strikes.  A lot of the writing I do is in the “notes” app on my phone, although I probably end up doing most of my writing in the living room on the couch.  I have a set up with my laptop and the folder with all of my notes on the coffee table that I pull out when I get an idea.

 9.      You’ve mentioned a new book being released in November… Can you tell us a bit about this book?

I sure can!  The latest book is going to focus more on Baseball than the other two have, and he’s certainly excited about that!  Baseball was an unexpected rescue I made, and he came into my life in a pretty unique way, so it’s going to be the story of how we first met.  It’s called The Surprise Under The House, and I hope to have it out by the end of the month, although right now it’s looking like it might be more like the first week of December!  Either way, it’s definitely going to be ready for purchase just in time for the holidays.

Aww don’t those books sound lovely! Thank you so much for sharing all this with us Andrea.

Also, just like before if you have any questions or suggestions for Andrea please write them in the comments section below.

© 2012 Georgina Hannan AuthorWorld. All Rights Reserved. Please do not reproduce or republish content without permission.
9 thoughts on “Author Profile – Zooey and Her Soldier

  1. Pingback: Author Profile and Interview « The Hand-Written Life

Please leave a comment

