Author Profile – The Beginning – Book I – The Four Series

Hi Everyone,

Here is the fourth in my Author Profiling posts! Please welcome Margaret Millmore!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

The Beginning - Margaret Millmore

The Beginning – Margaret Millmore

Title: The Beginning – Book I – The Four Series
Author: Margaret Millmore

Genre: Vampire, Werewolf, Thriller, Suspense
Blurb:

Clare had an ideal life. She lived in the perfect little town, had a great family and four of the best friends in the world.  She also had nightmares, nightmares that plagued her for almost a decade. But these are not ordinary nightmares; they are premonitions, warnings of what is to come and what she will become.

She discovers that she isn’t alone in these vile dreams; her friends are having them too. They are dreaming of their ancestors and their own future…  The discovery of their destiny and the future they must embrace is shocking and terrifying.

Release Date: September 2012
Where to buy: 

Reviews:

5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, November 12, 2012

By

David Ramsey “djjramsey” (Michigan)

This review is from: The Beginning: The Four (Volume 1) (Paperback)

Clare, Sal, Collin, Sam, and Kate have been great friends since junior high. Their backgrounds and their proximity to each other made for close friendships all throughout their lives. But the one experience which binds them together is the simultaneous horror of a nightmare, which happens to four of the five. This same dream haunts them for years, widening and deepening as time goes on. The fifth friend is the voice of reason, the logical help they all need, to keep their sanity. When a mysterious man approaches them with an offer to make sense of the nightmares, which no one but the five knew about, he is avoided at first. ??But when things get out of hand for the friends, he is allowed to come into their lives and guide them into a realm none of them had expected.

When I first started this book, I told myself I would simply devote an hour a day to reading it, but soon found myself carrying it everywhere. It isn’t a long read, but every page is a gem. The character development, their alliances with each other, and the backstory are seamless. Reading this book is well worth every minute I spent, even the hour or so I stayed up past my bedtime to see the story unfold. I am now going to go read Book 2. I am sure it will not disappoint. Magnificent job, Ms. Millmore!!
5 stars, only because I can’t give it ten.

 ~

5.0 out of 5 stars My glimpse of vampire history, November 6, 2012

By Wayne Zurl “WZ” (Smoky Mountains) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

This review is from: The Beginning (The Four) (Kindle Edition)

THE BEGINNING by Margaret Millmore

The last time I turned to a vampire for entertainment, Bella Lugosi was a young man. But this book, THE FOUR, number one in THE BEGINNING series sounded intriguing so, I sharpened my fangs and began reading.

The subtitle refers to four young people–carriers of the recessive gene that will someday turn them into vampires or werewolves. By happenstance, they all meet as children and grow into adulthood together. Then, one by one, they begin to feel the glitch. Each one experiences troubling and foreboding dreams–the same dreams.

Thrown for a loop by these inexplicable and similar dreams, they soon learn their future when contacted by their “watcher,” Charlie, a vampire himself employed by “The Consortium” or our version of the governing body of vampire and werewolf elders, who explains in fascinating detail, their family histories, inherited characteristics, and what they can expect in the future.

Ms. Millmore does a fine job presenting the historical background of her take on vampires and werewolves. Everything sounds interesting and plausible–in a Shock Theatre sort of way. And who doesn’t enjoy a really good, scary legend or two spanning the ages and continents?

With Charlie’s history lesson, comes the hook to these characters. We will all like them because they’re members of the benign group, led through immortality by The Consortium of vamps and werewolves who, over the centuries, have altered their way of life to peacefully coexist with their human neighbours. The monkey wrench thrown at THE FOUR is that for eternity, their lot in life is to monitor and combat “The Dark Ones”–the miscreants and destructive critters in the ranks of vampires and lycanthropes who give guys like Lugosi and Lon Cheney Jr. bad names.

The book ends with THE FOUR contemplating their future and how their lives will soon be forever altered. I liked it. Margaret Millmore’s imagination far exceeds my own. I applaud her for building a solid foundation for future adventures of THE FOUR.

 ~

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, October 20, 2012

By Lindsey (United States) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Beginning (The Four) (Kindle Edition)

The Beginning is the first in what looks to be a promising series. This story is about a group of friends who have been dreaming of the same nightmare for years and the journey to discovering why they are all having it. Millmore creates a great case of characters for a wonderful story. I cannot wait for her next book.

4.0 out of 5 stars can’t wait for volume 2!, September 25, 2012

By  Vladimir ArbuckleSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Beginning: The Four (Volume 1) (Paperback)

I really enjoyed this book, I just can’t wait for the next volume. The author did a great job of developing the characters in volume 1, you can tell that the series is going to be awesome. I was drawn in by the artwork on the cover and then when I found that there were vampires and werewolves involved, I had to read it. The book was well written, I feel very invested in the characters so I really can’t wait for the next one. It was a real easy read, blew through it in two days, and I am not even that big of a reader.

 Other books:

Overview of the Series:

They do exist and they always have. They live, love, and work amongst us and they are part of us. But they are different too, they are stronger and they live longer. They are the topic of many books, movies and myths, but their existence remains a secret, not everyone would accept them. And like us, they have those that are simply evil. Keeping these evil ones under control is the price they must pay to continue the lives they love. They must protect their human brethren from the Dark Ones, those that would rather kill than preserve.

Century after century the good battled the Dark Ones, always prevailing and preserving the lives of their beloved humans. In the 17th century, two powerful Dark leaders emerged, they organized their forces and a bitter war ensued. It was a fight to the death and the good thought they’d won. Four warriors led the battle, four warriors whose strength was beyond anything they knew, four warriors whose legacy had to be protected…

The good formed a consortium and with the help of a powerful sorcerer, a spell was cast; a spell that would follow the warriors’ lineage in case their power was needed again. The warriors are long dead, but their heirs are not, and now they must fight. The Dark Ones have re-emerged, they are more powerful, more resourceful and they want to control mankind and the world.

Mini Interview:

1.      When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I was very young, but didn’t begin to seriously write until 5 years ago. 

2.      What drew you to writing vampire/thriller stories?

I love suspense and thrillers, especially if there is a paranormal overtone (Doppelganger Experiment is of that genre), but I’ve always loved vampires and werewolves and just wanted to try my hand at it.

3.      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

Everywhere and anywhere. It seems that the littlest experience will spark a story idea and from there it festers and grows.

4.      Who did you decide to publish with?

I’m working with World Castle Publishing.

5.      Why did you choose them?

I liked the enthusiasm they displayed and the opportunities they offered for new writers.

6.      What has your experience been like with them?

It’s been good, there were a few glitches in the beginning, but I think that’s normal for a new company and especially a new writer.

7.      Where is your favourite place to write?

I have an office area set up in my home; it’s bright, and full of books and plants.

8.      Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I wanted to write when I was young, but life took a different direction. I’m very grateful and fortunate to be able to dedicate most if not all of my time to writing now.

 

Thank you so much for sharing all this with us Margaret. This sounds like a wonderful series indeed and I hope to find time to read it too.

Any questions or suggestions for Margaret please write them in the comments section below.

2 thoughts on “Author Profile – The Beginning – Book I – The Four Series

Please leave a comment

