Author Profile – Blood Bound

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Karina Gioertz!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Blood Bound by Karina Gioertz

Blood Bound by Karina Gioertz

 

Title: Blood Bound
Author: Karina Gioertz

Genre: Thriller/Suspense
Blurb:

The McCarthy men were once strong and proud. Now they are a family torn apart by lies. With both years and distance between them, they must now come together and seek justice for one of their own….

Soon they will discover that the truth lies buried within a core of crime and corruption; buried there by someone they’d never suspect.

Will the shared thirst for vengeance finally repair the bond that once held the McCarthy men so close together? Or will it lead to their ultimate destruction?

Release Date: 04th December 2012
Where to buy:  Amazon – http://amzn.com/B00AHIMYZ4

Reviews:

5 Stars – Blood Bound

This was recommended to me on a very good friend’s Facebook page. As the book was a crime thriller I was slightly hesitant as it is not my preferred genre, but looking at the cover I remained enthusiastic. Blood Bound was an unexpected thrill ride of unforeseen pleasure that captivated me from cover to cover.

Karina Gioertz plotting was extraordinary. This is not something I point out in stories, nevertheless the pacing was top notch to the point I missed my train stop due to being so captivated with what was happening. I had to know what would happen next and the mystery discovered is truly something that any fresh crime thriller reader can relish. I am a horror fan predominantly, but Blood Bound converted my thoughts towards a genre.

5 Stars – An Intriguing Plot

We’ve all heard before that prisons are independent worlds of their own. Prisons have their own rules, their own intrigue, their own system of corruption, and similar to the saying `what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas’, what happens within the heavily guarded walls of prisons is not for the outside world to see. Such tight-lipped secrecy didn’t make exceptions when Tommy lost his life in prison. His death was sourly accepted until Scott, a cousin of the victim, decides to shed light on the tragedy, and get a deeper understanding of the hatred that has torn his family apart. Through conversations with another inmate and flashbacks from his own past, Scott is ever more convinced that things aren’t always what they seem and greed is a driving force in the unfolding of events. As I read, I found myself passionately routing for Scott, as he fights to discover the truth and ensure justice is served. In a crescendo of suspense, Gioertz delivers an intriguing plot that keeps the reader spellbound all the way to the end.

Review of Blood Bound
Reviewed for Salgad Publishing
5 stars

What an immensely intriguing story? I was riveted from the first page, and by the fifth page or so, I was racing along totally enthralled. So where do I begin? The superb plotting, the good characterizations which enabled me to empathise with and to comprehend even the characters about whom in real life I wouldn’t care or wish to associate with, the settings, the suspense, the “how in the world did that happen? I can’t believe it!” The superb way in which the author escalates tension, tightening those screws, yet never telegraphs any of the denouements? All of it is here and any reader who relishes tantalizing mystery with escalating suspense and characters you just have to cheer on will totally enjoy “Blood Bound.” I in fact am now a convert, off to read author Karina Gioertz’ other novels. I’m very thankful to Salgad Publishing for introducing this fortunate reader to this particular author, and I hope to encourage all you Constant Readers to give Ms. Gioertz, and “Blood Bound” a go. 

Other Works:

Mini Interview:

1.      When did you first start writing?

In a way I’ve been writing for most of my life, but as far as writing novels, that I didn’t start actively pursuing until the end of 2011.

 2.      What drew you to writing Thriller/Suspense stories?

Blood Bound is my first Thriller novel. It wasn’t so much the genre that interested me, but more so the characters I wanted to write.  From the very beginning I had this incredibly clear image of the McCarthy boys and this was their story, their genre. They didn’t belong anywhere else.

 3.      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

Inspiration can come from anywhere. I’ve written books that were inspired by my experiences, by songs…dreams. Blood Bound was born from a silly conversation late one night between me and a friend if you can believe it. What started out as a joke turned serious pretty quickly as the story hit me and I pulled out my notebook to start jotting down everything that was racing through my mind.

 4.      Who is your favourite character in Blood Bound and why? 

My favourite character is Scott McCarthy.  Even when he’s not exactly doing the right things, he’s always doing them for the right reasons. Directly behind him is Stanley. I really enjoyed writing him and the elements he brought to the story.

5.      What has your experience been like publishing with Amazon?

It has definitely been a learning experience! Coming into the business, I really knew nothing. In the past year I have been very fortunate to meet a lot of other Authors who have been kind enough to guide me as I moved forward on this journey.  A journey which continues to be incredibly exciting!

 6.      Where is your favourite place to write?

Hmm…in bed after everyone else has already gone to sleep.

 7.      Who are some of your favourite authors?

My all-time favourite author is Sidney Sheldon. My mother got me hooked on his books many years ago. Even though I am quite certain I have since read every single one of his books as least once, I still find myself searching the shelves for a title I may have missed, anytime I’m in a book store.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Karina.

~ Thank you for having me.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Karina please write them in the comments section below.

One thought on “Author Profile – Blood Bound

Please leave a comment

