Author Profile – VICIOUS: A Novel of Suspense

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Bryan W. Alaspa!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

VICIOUS By Bryan W. Alaspa

VICIOUS By Bryan W. Alaspa

Title: VICIOUS: A Novel of Suspense

Author: Bryan W. Alaspa

Genre: Horror, Thriller, Suspense
Blurb:

IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE A QUIET, RELAXING, WEEKEND GETAWAY… The cabin is not deserted. It is the summer retreat of Jeremy Liden, an author who has just started to taste the fruits of success and the good life, which includes the summer cottage in Wisconsin. The same weekend Jeremy and his friends decide to get away from it all two dogs seek shelter beneath the summer house porch. Two dogs who have been trained to fight. Trained to Attack. Trained to kill. What Jeremy and his friends find at the house is sheer, snarling terror, and as things get desperate, they begin to wonder if they will ever get out alive. Nature made these dogs, but man made them VICIOUS.

Release Date: 29th September 2012
Where to buy: 
Amazon for Kindle – http://www.amazon.com/Vicious-A-Novel-Suspense-ebook/dp/B009JVIY6S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357937170&sr=8-1&keywords=Alaspa

Amazon for Paperback – http://www.amazon.com/Vicious-Bryan-W-Alaspa/dp/1480034142/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1357937170&sr=8-10&keywords=Alaspa

Reviews:

“A book that is both feral and sadistic” – Iain Rob Wright, author of Sea Sick and Animal Kingdom

“A most enjoyable and gripping tale. Conflict and tension that will seize your throat and not let go” – Ian Woodhead, author of Third Sight and Spores.

Other Works:

You can find all of Bryan’s books here:http://www.amazon.com/Bryan-W.-Alaspa/e/B003W50NPC/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

 Or at his website: http://www.bryanwalaspa.com 

Fiction:  The Ballad of the Blue Denim Gang, The Vanished Child, Dust, RIG: A Novel of Terror, Gone, Sin-Eater: Book One, Mythos: A Thriller, Sin-Eater: Book Two – Destiny, After the Snowfall, One Against Many, The Dead Phone, VICIOUS.

Non- Fiction: Ghosts of St. Louis: The Lemp Mansion and Other Eerie Tales, Chicago Crime Stories: Rich Gone Wrong, Chicago Disasters, Silas Jayne: Chicago’s Suburban Gangster, Forgotten Tales of Illinois, Sabotage: A Chronicle of the Chesterton Crash.

Collections: Stories, Flashpoint: A Curious Collection of Beginnings and Endings, Why Hockey Sucks and Other Random Thoughts.

 

Mini Interview:

1.      When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I sat down at my mom’s electric typewriter in the third grade and proceeded to write a three page short story.  It was dreadful, but it gave me the bug for creating stories.  I have been working at it ever since.  I really began writing and publishing seriously in 2006.

 

2.      What drew you to writing Horror/Thriller/Suspense stories? 

That has always what has interested me.  I guess I have always had a dark sense of what interested me.  The first book I remember being entranced by was Jaws.  Then, I discovered Stephen King and that was it.  There was no looking back after that.  My dad was also interested in the eerie and macabre and we used to watch horror movies together.  What can I say, I just like the creepy and scary tales.

 

3.      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

They come from all over.  I can never tell when or where a story will come from.  VICIOUS came from me wanting to do a “man against nature” story and also my take on the whole “cabin in the woods” story.  The desire to do that combined with reading about a woman who had been mauled to death by two dogs in the hallway of her apartment is what ultimately led to the story.  Other times, the stories just come.  I often tell people I feel like the characters talk to me and tell me their stories rather than me conjuring things out of thin air.

 

4.      What has your experience been like publishing with Amazon? 

I have enjoyed it immensely.  I think it’s safe to say that without Amazon, I would not be doing what I do these days.  I could not have found an audience without them.  Their Kindle Publishing Platform has helped me achieve more as a writer than anything else I had tried before.

 

5.      Where is your favourite place to write?

 I prefer to write at home.  I don’t, currently, have an office or anything, so I usually write using a lap desk on the couch in the loft/living room of my house.  I also spend time writing at coffee houses, such as Caribou Coffee, and a library from time to time.

 

6.      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

I definitely use a laptop.  These days I use a Chromebook because I am such a fan of Google.

 

7.      Who are some of your favourite authors? 

Stephen King.  Robert R. McCammon.  Blake Crouch.  Those are the biggest ones and the biggest influences on me these days.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Bryan. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Bryan please write them in the comments section below.

One thought on “Author Profile – VICIOUS: A Novel of Suspense

  1. Pingback: Vicious and Myself Featured on Author World | The Official Bryan W. Alaspa Website

Please leave a comment

