Author Profile – K. B. Lever

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome K. B. Lever !

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

K B Lever

K B Lever

Title: The Immortal Companion Series

Author: K. B. Lever

Genre: YA Fiction/Paranormal Fantasy
Blurb: The Immortal Companion Series follows an entity similar to the Grim Reaper called “The Collector.” He first meets our main character, Katherine, at the tender age of six when she is force to watch him collect her aunt’s soul. The two strangely manage to form a tightly knit friendship where the Collector tells Katherine the tale of each victim’s life every night like a bedtime story. Upon turning twenty-two, Katherine quickly finds that her name is on the Collector’s list and that she has been marked to be collected. A deadly race ensues where the two must work together to manipulate the list so that she can bypass her scheduled death. Join our characters as they begin an adventurous and thrilling challenge that involves breaking the law, traveling to exotic locations, murder, romance, and a constant game of cat and mouse that doesn’t stop from beginning to end. This series has an ever-changing storyline that we guarantee won’t let you put the books down.

Release Date: Manipulating the List 2012, Executing the List 2012, Legacy of the List (TBR July 2013)
Where to buy: Autographed Copies available at www.KBLever.com. Available at Barnes and Noble (Paperback and Nook) and at Amazon.com (Paperback and Kindle).  *note – Executing the List has been taken off the market due to changes in the cover. Will be back available prior to Feb. 1st 2013.
Reviews: Manipulating the List has received 4.7 out  of 5 stars on Amazon.com with 24 customer reviews.  Please follow these three links to visit all of the reviews –

Amazon.com – http://www.amazon.com/Manipulating-List-K-B-Lever/product-reviews/1478190027/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

BN.com – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/manipulating-the-list-kb-lever/1112111591?ean=9781478190028

Goodreads.com – http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15756982-manipulating-the-list

“I am an avid and wide reader and I absolutely loved this book! It was such an unusual story thread and one I was hooked into the minute I started reading. It has a fast pace, lots happening, and I didn’t want to miss any of it. Language was easy to read and the characters very likeable. also love the title!” – jack e robinson (Amazon.com)

“I received this book from the author for an honest review. I am an avid reader and LOVE all genres so I was extremely excited to be a part of this. My honest opinion of this book is…..just WOW!!! I loved it!!

Manipulating the List had me hooked from the very beginning!! I love how the backstories of the characters are told to allow personal connections to be made. Jonathan’s character pulled on my heartstrings and his hero complex totally drew me in. I wondered about Katharine the entire book. What will she decide to do? Will she make the right choices? Will this “game” ever end???? What a creative, sitting on the edge of my seat (or bed) plot! I love how the twists and turns continued even when I thought I had it figured out! I would never have guessed that  K. B. Lever was a first time author! I love how a love story was included into a mystery/ suspense story line. I found myself at the end desperately wanting to know what happened and eager for book 2! Great job and a MUST read. I also admire the author’s creative style that reaches readers of all ages! Amazing!!” – Kristi (Amazon.com)

“I am glad this was one of the books that started off my new year! The story line was AMAZING! I enjoyed the suspense, romance, tragedy, and complexity of this book. I do not want to divulge too much information, but this story is all about realistic, survival of the fittest choices. Katherine Sheppard, the main character in the book, has been surrounded the majority of her life by the grim reaper or “The Collector” as she calls him. She witnesses the passing of people throughout her childhood, and somehow finds herself in a friendship with the very person who collects their souls, Jonathan. As Katherine becomes an adult, she is forced to make some very hasty and rash decisions. Will she make the right choices? This book is very fast paced and brilliant! Throughout her journey she is presented with friendship, love, and betrayal. The ending will leave you coming back for more. I am so excited to see what happens in the second half of this series. I am sure we are in for some more twists and turns along the way! With all that being said, I highly recommend this book to other readers! K.B. Lever is by far one of my favorite authors of the year so far!” – Ashley Rogers (Amazon.com)

Other Work:

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

My enjoyment in writing was first found when I was in my young teenage years. I began with poetry – proudly expressing myself to friends, family, and my school. I received positive reviews and encouragement, but strangely after a small taste of success, I decided to give up writing to follow my other passions. After an exciting life of twists and turns, I decided to pick the pen back up and begin scribbling out some ideas. Before I knew it, I had two novels published and the next year’s novels to be released already planned out.  

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I’d never planned to be a writer. It was a calling that echoed in the back of my mind for years that went unanswered until recently. Upon graduating high school, I had two dreams – to be a Paramedic and a Firefighter. I achieved both of those goals and became a Lieutenant for Pineville Fire Department as well as a Paramedic for Mecklenburg County in North Carolina. Suddenly, upon turning twenty-nine, the urge struck me! I need to write! It was a sudden impulse that refused to relent. It’s been a true blessing to be able to follow through with two of my life’s passions.  

3      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

The stories that I write, actually write themselves. I couldn’t begin to tell you where they come from. As I begin a novel, I literally stare blankly at the screen and let my fingers find the keys or pen find the paper. As the novel progresses, I can see the story forming in my mind. I can’t see chapters ahead, except for maybe the ending, so it’s almost as much of a surprise for me (when I get to read the entire novel) as it is for my readers.

4      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

One of favourite chapters to write was in the Manipulating the List (Book 1 of the Immortal Companion Series).  The chapter entitled “I Need a Hero.” This chapter was the one place where I was able to combine both of my passions – Fire, EMS, and writing! This chapter introduces a character named Scott, who works as a fireman. This chapter really exposes the reader as to what it is like to be a Firefighter. I don’t want to give too much away, but I promise this chapter will give you a new found respect for what we, men and women in the emergency services, do for the public.

5      Where is your favourite place to write?

There are a few places you may find me writing at my home – at the kitchen table with a cup of coffee, in the recliner with a cpt’n and diet coke, or in my bed with the television on in the background. I also take my computer with me to work and will prop my feet up on the dash of the ambulance and write between calls. Most of the time my writing at work is interrupted, but the breaks are usually welcomed.

6      How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

My first novel, Manipulating the List, took me about 2 years to complete. I believe this was because I didn’t know the first thing about writing a novel. Once I was able to figure out the order of things and what worked best, the second book (Executing the List) only took me five months from beginning to end.

7      Who are some of your favourite authors?

Nicholas Sparks, Margaret Mitchell, and Kathy Reichs

8      What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

I am the type of writer that enjoys helping new writers. I don’t know that any one piece of advice can be stressed more than another. I actually run a group on Facebook called Published Authors Mentoring Aspiring Authors. https://www.facebook.com/groups/PAMAA. This group teams up experienced authors with those looking at getting into writing. My intention was to attract school age children to begin leading them in the direction of a career. The other place I help people looking to write is on my blog. http://kblever.blogspot.com/. Here I place all of my “Writing Tips” to assist the beginner writer.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, K. B. Lever. This series sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for K. B. Lever please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

