Author Profile – Victoria (January) Valentine

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Victoria (January) Valentine

I hope you all enjoy this visit with the author!

Victoria Valentine

Victoria Valentine

Victoria Valentine is a New York, USA, writer, indie book publisher, and host of Away With Words on blogtalkradio. http://www.blogtalkradio.com/aww1

Facebook: Victoria Valentine Books 

Twitter: @victoriaskyline

Head Over Wheels by January Valentine

Head Over Wheels by January Valentine

Title: Head Over Wheels

Author: January Valentine

Genre: New Adult (steamy contemporary romance)

Blurb: Turning 21 hasn’t proven very fruitful for Jewelia Delarosa. Still, one lost boyfriend & two failed classes haven’t gotten her down. She’s got her sights set on a career with the NYPD, and is on course … until she meets an irresistible and unpredictable Med Student who contradicts everything she thought she knew about Life, Love, Commitment … and Sex.

Whether on the front seat of his Wrangler or his kitchen counter, her reserve is low, desire higher than the roof of the isolated A-frame in Maine where the two enjoy a weekend with friends, and take romance to the next level.

Who’ll be there to catch her when she’s falling Head Over Wheels?

Release Date: January28, 2013

Where to buy: Amazon Prime Lending Library – http://www.amazon.com/Wheels-Spicy-Young-Romance-ebook/dp/B00B7NAUGI/ref=ntt_at_ep_edition_2_3
Reviews: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17305130-head-over-wheels

http://www.amazon.com/Wheels-Steamy-Adult-Romance-ebook/dp/B00B7NAUGI/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1362684539&sr=1-1&keywords=head+over+wheels

 Other Work:  Love Dreams (2012), Sweet Dreams in the Mind of a Serial Killer (2012) Desert Noon Romance Poetry (2011) The Cutest Little Duckie (2007) At the Stroke of Midnight 24 tales of terror (2002)

Before we move on to the interview – Here is a little snippet from the book…

“She calls you Jim Jim?” I tossed over my shoulder.

“Yeah. Sometimes she does.” Catching up, Indigo pulled me to a halt. After gauging my face, he took hold of both of my arms and backed me against the club’s brick wall. “Jewelia …” His voice was ragged. “Don’t let anything she said in there get to you. She acts on impulse sometimes … without thinking. She’s got a lot on her plate.”

“Don’t we all,” I flared. “I can’t believe you’re excusing her bad behavior.”

“I’m not excusing anything. I’m just trying to explain …”

Before he could say another word, I set him straight. “So listen. Let me know right now. Do you two have a thing going or what?” Struggling for composure, I felt my chin jut out. “Because I don’t want to become involved if …”

“I thought we already were.” He stared deep into my eyes then pressed against me, nuzzling the base of my neck. His words were muffled. “I like you, Jewel, a lot. Let’s forget the fight … forget Vanessa … and start again.” He breathed into loose strands of my hair working their way across my cheek with the breeze. “I don’t want you to be upset … or let this ruin anything between us.”

I inhaled deeply, trying to unclench my jaw. “What a mess this is turning into.”

“Only if we let it.” His lips found their way to my ear. “Can I call you during the week?”

I lay my palms on his chest, easing him forward, gazing into his eyes. He must have seen uncertainty on my face because he added, “I’ll call this time. And we’ll make plans for my next night off – a night we’re both free. Are you good with that?”

Nose to nose, he had me pinned, his arms stretched out before him, palms flat against the wall. There I stood, locked between his forearms, and he was closing in. Those eyes … dark as the night surrounding us … penetrating … searching.

“Can I kiss you?” he whispered.

“You already did in the club.”

“Not the way I want to kiss you now.”

The way he was looking at me, the sound of his voice, weakened everything inside me. “Suppose I said no?”

“Then I’d ask again, and again, until you finally said yes.”

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

From the moment I could talk, I’ve been a storyteller, especially when I had to come up with excuses to get out of going to school. I hated school. Once I resigned myself to the fact that I had to attend school, I won so many candy bars in writing competitions.

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to be a journalist. 

3      What drew you to writing romance and thriller stories? 

I enjoy writing about relationships, sexual tension and emotional and physical fulfilment. I love creating provocative characters, as well as horrible creatures. My heroines are strong, sensual women. My heroes are hot and sensitive men. Romance and thrillers are two stimulating genres that easily intertwine. I enjoy both, and combine romance, suspense and horror in many of my stories. My stories always contain twists, even my romance contains surprises.

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

If I’m not writing, I’m cranky and miserable. Writing is half of my life. The other half is my family. Writing is fulfilling. That’s my inspiration. I live inside each story and every character I create. I can’t say exactly what the inspiration is for my concepts, only that I have a vivid imagination which is constantly roaming. 

5      What has your experience been like publishing with Water Forest Press Books? 

Awesome. I’m a control freak who must command my own ship. This means I do everything myself from book formatting to cover design. I’m an indie publisher who also produces books for other writers. I’m completely immersed in every phase of writing, publishing, promoting and marketing. A friend once said, I have ink in my blood. 

6      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

Maine. Because it contained the hottest sex scenes. 

7      Where is your favourite place to write?

I have to be sitting in my office, at my desk, using my desktop PC. That’s the only place I can completely concentrate. 

8      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I always listen to music when I write. I must be sitting in front of my monitor, sipping a diet pepsi or frosty glass of seltzer mixed with natural fruit juice.

9      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

Desktop computer. I couldn’t read my own handwriting if I tried. 

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? 

Dreams often trigger my poetry, but for novels, I’d have to say the concepts just come to me. I don’t plan. It just happens. 

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?  

I had to do a lot of research for Sweet Dreams as it’s about a serial killer. In turn, I also had to research medical and post mortem info. I even watched autopsies on YouTube. If a book isn’t set in New York, or another area I’m extremely familiar with, I research locations. My other books are basically romance, which I can write without research 🙂 On a serious note, writing has taught me to be patient and never be discouraged. I try not to become overwhelmed. 

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Approximately six months. 

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Better than a hot fudge sundae J  I compare it to childbirth; waiting nine months to finally hold it in my hands. 

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

Nicholas Sparks, Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Maya Banks. 

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have the opposite problem. I call it a curse. When I’m in the middle of a project, I cannot rest. I don’t suffer writer’s block. I do suffer eyestrain from working so many hours on the computer. I sometimes write for 12 – 14 hours straight – go to bed – and my mind’s still in high gear, so I dictate dialogue and scenes on my digital recorder. When I’m involved in a project, it consumes me 24/7.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

The road isn’t easy: it’s well travelled, there’s a ton of competition out there, but don’t be discouraged by rejection or difficulty. Patience and persistence pays off. Take a deep breath, listen to a favorite song, imagine yourself to be floating on a Sealy posturepedic memory foam mattress … dream, and then write about it. 

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

I’m an emotional roller coaster, easily frustrated, therefore, I’m an impulse buyer and junk food addict.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your book, Head Over Wheels. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt!

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Victoria Valentine please write them in the comments section below.

2 thoughts on “Author Profile – Victoria (January) Valentine

  1. This is a really good interview. I love the questions (especially the last one). Plus I loved the snippet it’s already wanted me to read it just to find out who Vanessa is!!! lol

Please leave a comment

