Author Profile – Lavinia Urban

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Lavinia Urban

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Title: Erin the Fire Goddess series
Author: Lavinia Urban

Genre: YA, Paranormal
Blurbs:  

ERIN The Fire Goddess The Beginning by Lavinia Urban

ERIN The Fire Goddess The Beginning by Lavinia Urban

For Erin the Fire Goddess: The Beginning: 

Erin Tait is a 15 year old girl, born with a birthmark covering the left side of her face.

She moves to her parent’s home town of Galladale, where all is not what it seems.
From day one, Erin is bullied by Jessica Watson, for looking at Sean Jackson.
Why is she trying to keep Erin away? It’s hard when Sean goes out of his way to talk to Erin, causing the bullying to get worse.

Erin is lonely and scared; she doesn’t know what to do. Can she control the fire inside? 

ERIN The Fire Goddess Betrayal by Lavinia Urban

ERIN The Fire Goddess Betrayal by Lavinia Urban

For Erin the Fire Goddess: Betrayal: 

Most 15 year old girls usually only worry about what clothes to wear, but not Erin Tait. Erin just has to try not to set fire to anything. Easier said than done when she can’t control it.

Louise Clarke is a new girl who seems to have some type of seductive power and she says she can have any man she wants, but the only man she wants right now is Sean.

After discovering the diary of her great grandmother, Elizabeth Tait, Erin realises that all is not what it seems. Or rather not everyone is who they seem to be.

Who is the invisible man? And what secrets does he hold? Can Erin stay away from him? And can she keep Louise away from Sean? 

Release Date: book one: may 2012, book two: Nov 2012, Book 3 (hopefully) April 2013
Where to buy: amazon, smashwords, barnes & noble and many more
Reviews:  The Beginning : http://www.amazon.com/review/R11RPA0MTUO2EI/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B0085L3SDC&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag= 

Betrayal: http://www.amazon.com/review/R2TBQFFSI0EB0Y/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B009WWIXWY&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag= 

Other Work: Urban Verse, which consists of 28 poems and a short story

Snippet:

           For the first week, after that awful incident, I stayed at the cottage and cried. Just when I thought I was all cried out and my body couldn’t take any more fresh tears ripped through me, leaving me feeling drained; both emotionally and physically.

            The feeling of helplessness ripped through me as I would drift in and out of consciousness. Everything swirled around me in a blur. Only one thing I was sure of……………….the rain. It beat down heavily, not letting up in the slightest. It seemed to echo my sorrow. However, I knew the cause of the rain and this brought fresh waves of sadness, humiliation and anger. How dare he be sad!

            Towards the end of the week was when the fire inside me began to grow. It was unlike anything I had ever felt before. It started in my heart; the flames building with every pulsating beat. Then slowly it spread, causing me both pain and anguish. I would scream in horror as the feeling of being cooked from the inside out took hold of me.

            My parents looked on helplessly, unsure of what was happening or how to stop it. Dr Hammersmith arrived and concern was etched on his face as he watched me squirm in unprecedented torture.

            “Help me” I begged of him one day as he sat beside my bed “Please. Help me” The fire was burning my throat, making it difficult for me to talk.

            Often I would catch glimpses of my body as I tried to see any of the flames, but my skin remained untainted. To an outsider I just looked like someone with a slight fever. Oh how I wished that was true.

            “Here. Take this” Dr Hammersmith told me one morning as he burst into the cottage carrying a bottle of orange liquid.

            Not waiting for a response he lifted me up and placed the bottle to my lips as he urged me to drink.

            The liquid was thick and slimy and at first I was repulsed and tried to break away “You must drink” He urged as he tilted the bottle to my lips once more. I relented and drank deeply, finishing the whole bottle.

            At first nothing happened as my panic stricken eyes stared at Dr Hammersmith. But just as I was about to ask him what it was he had given me and why it wasn’t working, when something strange started to happen.

            “Oh” I gasped as the feeling of ice coursed through my veins, slowly dispersing the fire within and making it recede back to where it had come from as it slowly shrank and retracted back to my heart; where it faded with a fizzle and a hiss. Like the sound when someone throws water over a fire. “Wow” I leaned my head back down on my pillow and closed my eyes.

            Everywhere and everyone went quiet as everything seemed to wait with bated breath to see if the drink had worked and what were the effects. The only sound that could be heard was the sound of the rain that was lashing at the windows.

            “That’s it!” My mum, Kate, seethed. “I’ve had enough!” Anger ripped through her as she stood riveted to the floor near the doorway. “We have to make him stop” Her eyes closed, her head tilted up and her arms outstretched, with palms facing up, just as tiny sparks started to leave her fingertips. My dad, John, quickly followed suit. His eyes closed as his head tilted up. He then grabbed my mums hand as I watched in awe just as thunder and lightning ripped through the skies, just outside the cottage, making me jump. I had never seen them do this before and it was truly breath-taking.

            No sooner had it started then my mums mobile phone started to ring. Silently, Dr Hammersmith stood up and retrieved the phone from the night stand.

            “Hello Kelly” I could hear the panic in Kelly’s voice as she spoke, in what sounded like, at supersonic speed. “Alright dear. Yes, yes. It will stop” He nodded before saying goodbye and replacing the phone back down. “Time to stop” His voice soothed as he looked at my parents. “The rain will cease”

            I watched as my parents eyes slowly opened and their arms fell to their sides. They gave each other a triumphant smile just as someone knocked on the front door.

            “Can I come in?” I heard Scott call as he opened the door. 

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing? 

I was about 12. I started off writing poetry. Then by the time I was 14 I had wrote hundreds of poems and 7 unpublished stories in a series 

2      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? 

Yes I did but at first I kept getting rejections. I had no idea who to go about getting published so I was 14 and sending off work left right and centre, only for it to be returned saying they do not except unsolicited documents. So I kind of gave up and focused on becoming either an athlete or a lawyer. 

Then one day I wrote a short story for my eldest, who was 5 at the time. It included all her class friends and it was about how bullying is bad and how you should stay in school and learn. The school loved it and asked for a copy. Then my daughter kept asking me for another story, then I dreamed up Erin the Fire Goddess and named it after my eldest. 

3      What drew you to writing YA stories?  

I have always enjoyed writing this particular genre. Then having children, they wanted to read my stories 

4      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from? 

Definitely my children, but also things around me, my own experiences etc.

I went through a time where I was bullied, so in my series I could put how I felt. I could relate perfectly.

5      What has your experience been like self-publishing? 

At first I was totally confused with it all, but I have gotten into the swing of it. The only downside is self promoting, editing etc. I am rubbish at that stuff. My mind can think up the wildest story, but to sell myself…………. Well that’s a different matter entirely lol 

6      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I have so many. 

In book 1 (The Beginning) I loved the scene when Erin not only discovers she has special powers but Sean is also her soul mate. 

In book 2 (Betrayal) I loved writing about the magic kitchen cupboard, where you can get whatever you wish. Then there was a bit where Justin shows how he can use his powers and takes control of Paul. 

In book 3 (Torment), which I am writing now I have a scene in it which is totally emotionally charged that I actually broke down crying whilst writing it.

My readers have said they have cried reading my other books and they were dreading reading the third book. I never cried writing the other two, so if I am crying through the third then I am sorry for making my readers cry, but also happy at the same time that I have made them connect emotionally to my work. 

7      Where is your favourite place to write? 

I have my seat on the sofa where I sit and write, mainly when everyone has gone to bed 🙂

8      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? I.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I mainly have sit in the same seat, and because it is at the end, when I need to type it up on my laptop I can put my mouse on the arm rest (I hate the laptops built in mouse) I stick on the music channels and I like to make myself a huge mug of hot chocolate with squirty cream and sprinkles 🙂 I often put pictures up of my hot chocolates, making me get in trouble by my husband the next day as I didn’t offer anyone else one lol.

9      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

Pen and paper for me. I can type quick, but I find everything flows better with a pen and paper. I have paper scattered everywhere 

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? 

The main character is named after my eldest daughter Erin and she has a sister Kasey-ray, who is named after my other daughter. Other names can be random, but lately I have started to name them after my readers 😉 I have a new competition running at my children’s school where the winner will get a character named after them.

As for the place names, I asked the local school children if they knew where they were. It was the teacher who quickly put her hand up and asked if they were named after local streets. Yes they are 🙂 I want the local children to feel like they are part of it 🙂 

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? 

I would not say I learned anything per se. However, when I first showed the first book in the series to one of my best friends her reply was ‘OMG when the heck did you become talented’ I often laugh about that lol 

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it? 

I would say average of 6 months. My first was published the end of May 2012 and the second was published at the beginning of November 2012. The third book, I am hoping to have it published in April 2013

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? 

I was jumping around everywhere like I had just won the lottery. It is such a great feeling. 

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

There are so many to name, but when it comes to indie authors I love Alexia Purdy and K.S Haigwood. Both talented ladies who I get to call my friends 🙂

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? 

Nope lol. I never ever write from a to z. I write bits here there and everywhere, then put them together. If I do get stuck I just go write a different part of the book and come back to it. I am not sitting there suffering. The words will come to me when they are ready 🙂 

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? 

Never write from a to z.

Remember not everyone will enjoy your work, but those who do will love it.

Network. Speaking to other authors is a great way to not only make friends but you get to find out all the pros and cons etc

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us? 

Hmmmm I am not sure which you would want to know……. I was born a man or I have 3 nipples or I am a vampire or that I was propositioned by Channing Tatum, Ryan Reynolds, Wentworth Miller and Jake Gyllenhaal but I had to turn them down because I am married. Hmmmmmm I am not sure which secret is the darkest.

Maybe I should wake up eh? lol

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=lavinia+urban 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Lavinia Urban. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus a fantastic series! 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Lavinia Urban please write them in the comments section below.

4 thoughts on “Author Profile – Lavinia Urban

Please leave a comment

