Author Profile – Laura Prior

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Laura Prior.

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Falling for an Angel by Laura Prior

Falling for an Angel by Laura Prior

Title: Falling for an Angel

Author: Laura Prior

Genre: Paranormal Romance
Blurb: Jasmine is a young, beautiful woman raised with dishonesty and treachery. When a mysterious stranger enters her life with tales of Angels and Demons she ignores him. As she is abandoned by everyone she turns to drink and drugs; spiralling out of control. 

When strange things begin to happen, when beasts begin to hunt her she turns to the only person she knows can help. She finds that the stranger is not who she thought he would be.

Personalities opposite, opposing values, she struggles to understand him. Can they unite and face the evil stalking them? Or will they fail?

Release Date: Out now!

Where to buy: Amazon. Book World, Waterstones, Barns and Noble. The Book Depository, Kindle, Nook or Kobo! Plus it can be ordered in through your nearest bookstore or library!
Reviews:

Meghan Murphey: This was one of the best books I’ve read. The last pages had me on the edge of my seat, and I’m hoping that she writes the next book for it. There’s no way she could just leave us all hanging with that ending….. 

Nanette Lindsey: I just finished Falling for an angel and it was very, very good! One of the top 5 authors I’ve read!

It was exciting, dangerous, loving, and I hope will continue on in the next installments! I am a total Zach fan and hope all will be answered in the next books! There is so much more I want to know about many of the characters and will be waiting excitedley for the next books…

With angels that look like the photo on the facebook page how can I not root for Zach and Jasmine to find there way back to each other after all they have been through for each other.

Lots of excitment, danger, sex and more danger all in loves name!

I highly recommend “Falling for an angel” I sure did!

and it was my first ebook! 

Courtney Trout: This book is one of my top three favorites that I’ve ever read! Being a Lauren Kate fan myself with The Fallen series, I can honestly say that Laura Prior did an AMAZING job writing this book!! I’m so excited for the next book! Highly recommended to read!! 

Other Work:  Beware the Wolf is the sequel to Falling for an Angel and is out at the end of May!

Snippet:

“Out of the corner of my eye I saw a man step up towards me. The first things that caught my attention were his eyes. The Iris’ were so dark they were almost black, blending into the pupil. The whites of his eyes were so pale they almost sparkled in the light from the porch lamps. He had thick, defined eye lashes which framed them perfectly, and dark hair shaved close to the skull. Through his eyebrow was a silver bolt. He had high cheek bones, which emphasized his attractiveness. Full lips were the final touch, making him look sulky.

 He was tall, he must have been at least 6 foot 2, and he was built like a boxer. He was wearing a fitted white t-shirt with a black design, and his biceps were clearly defined and bulging beneath the short sleeves. He was wearing black trousers and a black belt with a silver buckle. He wore a silver chain with some sort of pendant. Tattoos ran up his neck and I could see them wrapping around his arms.

Just looking at him took my breath away. He looked dangerous and deadly, and full of sin. He looked like the epitome of criminal. And if he wasn’t a criminal, he could certainly make it as a model.

He was staring right at me, which made my heart murmur. Staring into my eyes, he walked straight up to me. He stopped around 2 foot away from me, and looked down at me. The blank expression on his face faded as he sneered down at me. He glared at me distastefully. “You shouldn’t be here.” He growled.

I was still staring at his gorgeous, perfect face, and it took a moment to realize what he had said. I definitely hadn’t expected him to say that. Immediately I felt my guard shoot up, my barrier surrounding me. I raised my eyebrows in a disapproving look and glared back at him. “Excuse me?”

“You heard.” His gravelly voice rumbled. He lurched forward and grabbed me by the arm pulling me up to my feet. I dropped my smoke on the ground.

I wrestled against him, digging the nails of my free hand into the flesh of his arm. I stomped my heel down on his foot and put all my force into pulling away from him. He hissed and let go abruptly, causing me to fall against a pottery planter, knocking it to the ground. The pottery smashed all round my feet, the soil coating my shoes.

“What is your problem? You need therapy! You can’t just grab people!” I shouted at him. I managed to side step around him and I whirled around to storm into the house, but somehow he had appeared between me and the door.

“How did you…?” I gasped. I shook the thought away and shoved at him with all my force. He didn’t even register it. He slapped my arms away, and scowled at me.

“You need to go home.” He enunciated clearly and slowly. He leaned down glaring with what felt like hatred.

“I need you to get the fuck out of my way.” I copied his slow speech.”

Mini Interview:

1      What drew you to writing Paranormal Romance stories? 

The first book I ever read in the paranormal romance genre was Dark Secret by Christine Feehan. I finished reading it in about two days and I immediately went out and bought five more of her books! I love the fantasy of it all, I love the idea that all of these creatures may be out there with their own rules! I do read other genres of books, but romance is my hands-down favourite – paranormal/fantasy/historical – I am easily pleased with pages full of hot guys and spunky heroines!! 

2      Where is your favourite place to write?

I usually write on a stool at the breakfast bar in my house late at night. Usually with a coffee or a glass of port! Sometimes even with a cocktail… I don’t always write in the house though – if my partner is surfing on The Great Ocean Road, I’ll go with him and sit on the beach/cliff and write away whilst checking he hasn’t been eaten by sharks.

3      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I depend on my IPod a lot when I’m writing! For the emotional scenes –  Mariah Carey and Alicia Keys are always on shuffle and I definitely recommend you stick them on when you read the book. 🙂

4      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

I normally use my laptop, but if I’m out or at the beach then I’ll stick a notepad and pen in my bag and scribble away when I get the chance. I usually then have a job to decipher my handwriting when I get back home! 

5      Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I have learned that even when it seems impossible – keep going until you find a way around it. 

6      How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Falling for an Angel took around 4 months to write, Beware the Wolf took a little longer, maybe 6 months. 

7     Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I’ve had instances where I’ve been unsure what is going to happen next. Rather than power through, I stop. I go out, I go to work, whatever. And then when an idea comes to me – even if it’s a week later – I’ll start writing again. I enjoy writing, and I don’t want it to ever feel like a ‘job’.

8      What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

If you’re struggling to get published – self publish! – the pay isn’t as good, and it’s a lot of work, but it’s  worth it just to see a book with your own name on it in your bookshelf!

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Laura This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say!

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Laura please write them in the comments section below.

Links:

One thought on “Author Profile – Laura Prior

  1. Hi Laura
    I have read all your books…and really enjoyed everyone of them. I just wanted to know when you will be publishing the fifth book in the series.
    Thank you
    Naomi

Please leave a comment

