Author Profile – Amy Keen

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Amy Keen

I hope you all enjoy this new author!

Embers by Amy Keen

Embers by Amy Keen

Title: Embers (#1 Foresight Series)

Author: Amy Keen  

Genre: YA (Paranormal)

Blurb: Scarlett Roth loves nothing more than to immerse herself in a good book. So, the tale of a modern day witch hunt and a sinister adversary threatening to irrevocably alter a young girl’s life forever should be the perfect story in which to lose herself. Unfortunately for her, this is not another book, she’s the girl, the threat is real and she will unearth one of the modern world’s darkest secrets – the witch trials are not over, they have evolved.

Scarlett’s life is thrown upside down when she starts having terrifying visions. Her only comfort in a strange new town comes in the form of Jake, the enticing and popular centre of seemingly everyone’s attention. But the more she learns about her ‘power’, the more she realises her interest in him is drawing unwanted attention of the darkest kind. 

Release Date: 27th September 2012
Where to buy: 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Embers-ebook/dp/B009V2ULNE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363117129&sr=8-1 

http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/amy+keen/embers/9450081/

Reviews: http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B009V2ULNE/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1 

Other Work: The second book in The Foresight Series, Ashes, was out on 16th April 2013! I also write book reviews and a monthly column for Gliterary Girl.

 

Mini Interview:

1      When did you first start writing?

I started writing as soon as I could actually write! It sounds a bit cliché, but I said from the age of five that all I wanted to be was an author. I started with short stories and poems but my first ‘real story’ was The Stairway Ghost which I wrote aged ten. Once I completed it, my teacher at the time read it out at school and that was when I knew I would never want to do anything else. 

2      What drew you to writing YA/Paranormal stories? 

I suppose it was my love of the genre translating into a desire to create one of my own. I was obsessed with Goosebumps books when I was younger, and then point horror, so it isn’t so surprising I went down the spooky route. The YA thing was kind of by accident but I think there is something great about having the freedom to revisit your teenage years without reliving the drama; just sitting back and creating worlds for your characters.  

3      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I don’t have a favourite chapter; it is too hard because when you create a character, all of their actions are exciting to write, though obviously, some are more exciting than others. I think all of the high emotion or high tensions parts are great fun as these are where the real challenges lie in conveying something to the reader. After those bits, the relationship parts re wonderful to create especially in YA, as you get all the heightened senses of those first moments as people with a connection meet. 

4      Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

This is a hard one. For me, it was a sensory overload if I am honest. I couldn’t decide whether to cry or laugh or scream! It was years of hoping and dreaming and trying very hard to be good enough coming to fruition, so, overwhelming but completely wonderful. 

5      Who are some of your favourite authors? 

I read so much and like so many, I always find this hard to answer, but recently I have loved The Blessed by Tonya Hurley and Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake and cannot wait for the next books from these authors. 

6      What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

That it doesn’t happen overnight. Writing is a skill and like everything else, it requires practice. I know everyone has probably heard that before, but we would never take up a sport and immediately expect to win a championship in it; so why therefore, would we write one thing and assume we are of publishable standard? Writing improves the more you do it so write every single day (and sometimes put it away and revisit it – that is often when you find that thing that was missing and makes it awesome!) If all else fails…turn to coffee and cake! 

7      Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

Oooh…I like this question. I have a thing for rapping. No, I am not a rapper (!!!)  But I absorb rap lyrics and find myself singing along all the time, much to the surprise of the people with me at the time!

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Amy. This book sounds fantastic 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Amy please write them in the comments section below.

One thought on “Author Profile – Amy Keen

Please leave a comment

