Author Profile – Malika Gandhi

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Malika Gandhi !

I hope you all enjoy this new author!

Where The Secret Lies by Malika Gandhi

Where The Secret Lies by Malika Gandhi

Title: WHERE THE SECRET LIES    

Author: Malika Gandhi

Genre: Paranormal Romance
Blurb:

A mansion (Haveli). A sealed door. A spirit.

And a secret.

A secret only the spirit knows – and only nineteen-year-old Arianna can set free. 
Arianna and her family travel to India from London, for a splendid wedding. Excitement soon turns secondary when strange happenings transpire within the Haveli walls. Hitherto, a sealed door opens and Arianna is given Anjali’s diary.

And so begins a paranormal experience that leaves her stunned. Arianna wants answers. Who is Anjali? Why did the door unseal for her? Is there something the spirit wants to show her?

What?

Release Date: 15th March 2013
Where to buy: http://amzn.to/YMQejM
Reviews: None at the moment, as just released.

Other Work: Freedom of the Monsoon, Rakesh’s Story, Dev’s Story

 

Mini Interview:

1.       When did you first start writing?

I first began to write three years ago seriously but before that, I dabbled in short story writing.

 2.      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I think I always did but I did nothing about it until recently. I also love art and design, so a career in either of those fields would have been great.

 3.      What drew you to writing Paranormal stories? 

I love spirits, ghosts and unreal worlds, the time between being alive and dead, the afterlife etc so it came naturally to me to write in this genre.

 4.      Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

My inspiration comes from reading real ghost stories and accounts. There is a mansion mentioned in the book, which is a big part of the story. It is called a Haveli (mansion) – in Indian films of old, it was widely used when portraying a paranormal storyline. Taking this idea, I have incorporated a haveli and a spirit into my novel, which brings about a sense of mystery and intrigue.

 5.      What has your experience been like publishing with Amazon – Kindle Direct Publishing?

I think KDP are a great publishing stage for new and established authors. I have never had a bad experience with them and they reply promptly when I have queries.

 6.      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I loved writing chapter nineteen, when something unexpected happens in Anjali’s life – a very surprising turn of events.

7.      Where is your favourite place to write?

I love writing in my small but cosy study, surrounded by my favourite classics, and new contemporary titles.

8.      Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I like to listen to music as it helps me feel the emotion of a particular scene.

 9.      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

I am a pen and paper writer. I then type up the chapter, editing as I go.

10. How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I sometimes brainstorm and write anything that comes to mind or sometimes I would just sit and think until a place and a name naturally comes to me.

11. Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I don’t think so – not really…

12. How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Around four months to complete the story, then the editing and proofreading begins.

13. Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? 

Elation and tredipition!

14. Who are some of your favourite authors? 

I love Ruth Warburton – a new author who writes Fantasy, JK Rowling, Stephenie Meyer for her Twilight series. 

15. Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I usually stop “thinking” about writing and focus on other things for a few days, then come back and then ideas come.

16. What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Keep writing, even when you feel cannot go on. Stay positive. If you need a break to think – take one!

17. Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

Maybe not deep and dark but I do have a weird eating habit – I love pesto and feta and eat it with toast!

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Malika. This book sounds very good.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Malika please write them in the comments section below.

One thought on “Author Profile – Malika Gandhi

Please leave a comment

