Author Profile – Tobietta Rhyman

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Tobietta Rhyman!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

The Secret of Raven Island by Tobietta Rhyman

The Secret of Raven Island by Tobietta Rhyman

Title:The Secret of Raven Island  

Author:  Tobietta Rhyman

Genre: Paranormal Thriller  

Blurb: Beneath the island’s idyllic beauty lie dark secrets, long forgotten. But no matter how deeply you bury the skeletons in your closet, their ghosts will always come back to haunt you.

Secrets of Raven Island is a Paranormal Thriller set in Oregon, US. The book follows Amanda and her young daughter Rosie as they seek to make a new life on the beautiful holiday island. But soon they realise they’re not the only occupants in their new home: after the ghost of a little boy appears, paranormal activity quickly intensifies until Rosie collapses and falls into a coma at school.

Desperate to save her daughter, Amanda starts looking into the past of her house and the island, and with help from a Wiccan and a paranormal investigation team, she unwittingly uncovers a deadly secret behind the ghostly activity. Facing demonic entities and a backlash from the conservative islanders, Amanda becomes trapped in a terrifying race to solve a cold case and bring those responsible to justice before she is also silenced.

Release Date: Available Now

Where to buy: Amazon http://amzn.to/YmOyhA

Other Work: Tokyo Star (Modern Fantasy/ Corporate Thriller set in Japan http://amzn.to/YmOHSn)

Snippet:

Probably my favourite bit, the conclusion of the exorcism scene:

As Prue screamed and writhed beneath the restriction of the five men, Chris repeated firmly, ‘Be gone, in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit!’

Suddenly the room around them burst into flames and Prue screeched as the fire ripped through her skin. From every orifice oozed out a thick back ectoplasm and she vomited it too, the mucus like substance burning up as it touched the droplets of holy water all over her clothes and the bed, fuelling the fire already threatening to take over the room.

‘The water!’ Johnny cried, grabbing the priest’s bottle and attempting to quench the flames leaping up the bed.

‘No Johnny, wait!’ Nick tried, attempting to grab it off him, but he was too late and the desperate man ripped off the cap and sprayed it all over her.

There was a massive backflash as the room was consumed in flames. Screaming, Sam wrenched open the door and dragged Amanda out and down the stairs. Ed followed quickly with Rhiannon, whilst Chris, Nick and Matt struggled desperately to free Prue from the ropes, Johnny standing back in shock, even as his own clothes started to burn.

 

Mini Interview:

1 When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I was at uni. I used to go on quizilla.com a lot and many people were posting chapters of their work there, so I uploaded some stuff on my own and the ideas and the passion for writing developed from there. Best of all, it was a chance to get my work read by other people, rather than just letting the stories sit on my laptop, and the encouragement I got from my Quizilla readers is what made me decide to put the stories together to form my first book, Tokyo Star.

 2 Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

I’m a member of a paranormal investigation team so a lot of my inspiration comes from things I’ve witnessed first hand in investigations. Also, having lived in Japan, a very spiritual country, for a few years, I’ve got encyclopaedia loads of ghost stories and folk lore to borrow from. I’ve travelled quite a bit and you meet all sorts of people and hear all kinds of weird stories when you’re backpacking and I prefer to draw inspiration from the amazing world around me rather than ripping ideas from other people’s books.

 3 What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

My favourite chapter would probably be the exorcism chapter. I love action and that chapter has a lot of drama and a lot of things going on. It was quite a challenge to give the reader an impression of the desperation and determination in the room and I also needed to do quite a bit of research as my knowledge in that area ended at house blessings, but for me learning new stuff is one of the best things about writing. And I got quite a bit of good feedback from my readers so hopefully my hard work paid off.

4 Where is your favourite place to write?

I usually write in my room, curled up in bed (best excuse for a lie in ever!) but I’ve got mobile broadband so I take my laptop with me wherever I go. This works great for me because going to new places is often a source of inspiration so it’s good to be able to get all those fresh ideas written down. Plus I like to travel to places I write about if possible as I feel it makes the work more realistic. Unfortunately Oregon, the state when The Secret of Raven Island is set, was a little too far for my budget, but I had lots of help from my American friends. 

5 How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

The names of the town and the island where The Secret of Raven Island is set actually came from a friend who also enjoys writing. I was stuck for something which set the scene so I ran a mini competition on Facebook! However, I do like to use as many real place names as possible in my writing as it helps me with my research and I think mixing a bit of reality into a fiction novel helps to set the scene a bit better. These days everyone’s got the internet, and I’d like to think that a reader could search for some of the places on Google, see what they look like and that the book would then be brought to life in their imagination.

As for people’s names, I usually just make them up. Occasionally if I know someone with a similar personality to a character in my books, I’ll use a similar first name or surname to inspire me when creating them emotionally. 

6 How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Once I got the idea for The Secret of Raven Island, I planned it all out and wrote it up as and when I got the inspiration, so obviously some weeks I got a lot done, and sometimes I had a complete mental block. I don’t like to force myself to write under those conditions as the work always comes out feeling flat, and with work getting in the way too, it probably took me around six months. Tokyo Star on the other hand, as my first book, was a work in progress for years and I was constantly editing it before I finally had the confidence to put it online where people could read it. 

7 Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Working full time is the biggest killer of creativity so I get this a lot. To get around it, I usually read back through my existing work and look for typos or sections I can rephrase better. Sometimes that gives me the inspiration to write a little more at the end of the chapter. If I’ve had a good idea but I don’t have the right inspiration to type it up, I write a little plan instead so I won’t forget it. Then when I do have the fire burning inside me to write something, I can read over the plan and go back to that moment and put my passion into it properly. And if all else fails, I’ve always got a couple of different works coming on at once so I’ll try and write a paragraph or two for one of the others.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Tobietta Rhyman. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Tobietta Rhyman please write them in the comments section below. 

Please leave a comment

