Author Profile – Gina Ardito

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Gina Ardito!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Chasing Adonis by Gina Ardito

Chasing Adonis by Gina Ardito

Title: Chasing Adonis
Author: Gina Ardito

Genre: Lighthearted Paranormal
Blurb: Every girl sees her thirtieth birthday as a milestone, but in Adara Berros’s case, her entire life has turned upside-down. She may not know it, but Adara is actually the reincarnation of Greek mythology’s Adonis. And she’s about to be drawn into a centuries-old game between the gods and goddesses of Mount Olympus, with her eternal love as the grand prize.

Detective Shane Griffin senses trouble when he investigates an accident involving Adara and a mysterious stranger named Ted. Having lost his sister to domestic abuse, Shane suspects Ted is not the charming guy he appears to be. After he discovers Adara is the key witness for a murder trial, Shane vows to put his life and career on the line to protect her.

When Adara’s life is threatened, she and Shane go on the run. Now, mortals and immortals alike are all…

…Chasing Adonis.

Release Date: November 2012
Where to buy: Amazon http://amzn.com/B00AGYH6PM, B&N, Kobo, Smashwords, Itunes
Reviews: “…Chasing Adonis is a worthy read, it has a mix of mortals and immortals with gods and goddesses appearing in forms we don’t expect and a back story of endangered life and time on the run. There is plenty for everyone in this great read, and I highly recommend it…” – Lindsay and Jane’s Views and Review

“…the author’s storytelling talent shines through and illuminates the extremely enjoyable ‘Chasing Adonis’!” – Mimi Smith, InD’Tale Magazine   

Other Work: Eternally Yours, Duping Cupid, Mistletoe and Magic, Nobody’s Darling, Nobody’s Business, Nobody’s Perfect, The Bonds of Matri-money, A Little Slice of Heaven, A Run for the Money

Snippet:

Sure. This interlude takes place when Adara, after she was hit by a mysterious car that left the accident scene, is being questioned in the hospital.

Adara released a nervous giggle. What would the detective think when she told him Ted’s reason for being here? “Okay, this is the most bizarre part of everything I’ve heard since I woke up this morning. Ted claims my Aunt Persephone sent him here to marry me.”

Not quite what she expected. The detective showed no reaction at all. He merely wrote her answer down on his little notepad, and then looked up at her, his face a good-looking void. “Is that possible? Would your aunt send someone to marry you?”

She could probably tell him pigs bay at the moon on Tuesday nights, and he’d accept the statement as fact. Not that he was gullible. A cool determination lit his eyes, belying naïveté. No, he wanted to believe her for some reason. He accepted her explanations at face value, and for that, he’d have her eternal gratitude.

“You see, that’s the thing.” She pushed the button to elevate the head of the bed a little more. Now her eyes directly lined up with his. She liked this position. It presented him as more her equal and gave her some dignity. Dignity she’d been sorely lacking in the last few hours.

“I only met Aunt Persephone once. I was about six years old at the time. I barely remember her. I have no idea what she might do now. According to Ted, my mother’s death left Aunt Persephone as my guardian until I marry. Knowing I would balk, she sent him to marry me.” She shrugged. “Kill two birds with one stone, I suppose.”

“Do you know for certain your Aunt Persephone sent him?”

“Well, no, but…he knows things about me.”

One dark eyebrow arched. “What sort of things?”

“A lot of things. Personal things. Things even my best girlfriends don’t know.”

“And you think your Aunt Persephone told him these things?”

Her throat dried to dust. “I’m not sure. Like I said, I only met her once. And that was over twenty years ago. So if she told him these things, how did she know about them?”

“You tell me.”

“I wish I could.”

She tried to remember her mother mentioning her father’s sister at any other time besides the week Aunt Persephone visited, but no. Mom never talked about Dad, much less anyone related to him. Once he walked out the door, in Mom’s mind, he never existed. A tiny hammer pounded in Adara’s brain, and she closed her eyes to ward off the pain.

After a moment, she opened them again and offered him an apologetic grimace. “I think my painkillers are wearing off.”

“Should I get the nurse?” He turned toward the door, but she raised her unencumbered hand to stop him.

“No, please. If you go out there, Ted will come back in here. I need a little more time to compose myself before that happens. There’s only so much simpering adoration a girl can take.”

He smiled as if to say he understood perfectly, and she believed he did. Closing her eyes again, she settled against the pillow. In the hopes of easing some of her pain, she allowed her mind to drift, and behind her closed eyelids, she saw a nametag. Using every last ounce of strength, she focused her throbbing brain cells on the letters engraved on that square black and white pin. Too small to make out clearly, but she kept pushing until flashes of details, like snapshots, came back to her.

Protectors of treasure, an eagle’s head and wings attached to a lion’s body…

“What did you say your name was, Detective?” she asked slowly.

“Griffin,” he replied, just as she knew he would. “Shane Griffin.”

“You caught me when I collapsed.”

 

Mini Interview: 

1      Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to be a something-slash-writer. In elementary school, I wanted to be an actress-slash-playwright (so I could star in my own productions). By junior high, my goal was pediatrician-slash-author. In high school, I switched to veterinarian-slash-author. I always considered writers to be these brilliant, erudite people with a lifetime of accomplishments from which to draw their plot lines. Lucky for me, I learned I could be an author without having to be brilliant and erudite.

2      What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

Probably the scene where Zeus and Nemesis confront Shane and he learns who Adara really is. Of course, Shane doesn’t know he’s actually the incarnation of Greek mythology’s griffins (hence, his last name)—the protectors of treasure and servant of Nemesis, the goddess of retribution. So there’s this secondary conversation going on between the deities that the audience gets, but poor Shane has no clue about.

 3      Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

Both! I generally start writing on my laptop and each day, I print out the previous day’s work and use a pen for tweaking, editing, and layering on the hard copy. Then I transfer all of that back into the laptop doc and repeat the process day after day until I type The End. It’s a bizarre way of writing and thank God, my day job keeps me in scrap paper.

4      How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

In the case of Chasing Adonis, I had the Greek myths to fall back on. Since my heroine is the female version of Adonis, I wanted a similar name that was feminine. I consulted my baby name books and found “Adara.” The Berros is for my mother-in-law, who’s Greek. That’s her maiden name. I’ve already explained how Shane wound up with his last name. The rest were just…out of thin air.

Generally speaking, I consider different character names and then refer to my favorite name book: The Secret Universe of Names. It’s a great resource because it breaks down names by significant letters and provides you with character traits for love, career, childhood, charisma, and other life points.

Most of my books take place in fictional towns around Long Island—my home so I don’t have to do much research for places.

5      How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Depends on the situation: book length, deadline date, how much research, how emotional the story is, etc. I work really well under pressure, but if I have too much time on my hands, I tend to procrastinate because “I have plenty of time.” And the more emotionally draining the story is, the longer it takes me to work on it. On average, I write 2-3 books a year. A short story can take me 6-8 weeks, a 200 page book about 4-5 months, and a longer book about 6-9 months. The good thing is, I edit as I go along so although it takes me a long time to write a book, when I type The End, it really is The End. One or two read-throughs for continuity and minor typos is all it takes before I’m ready to submit the story.

6      Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have suffered from writer’s block, but I don’t consider it a “block” per se. It’s more that the creative well dries up. And I have a lot of things I do to replenish the well: I’ll re-read favorite books (including my own backlist), play word games, tour a museum or historical site for inspiration, or just take a walk on a beach.

 7      Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

I would, but I don’t have any secrets. Even the deep dark stuff about me is public knowledge. I can’t keep secrets. Really. I’m a blabbermouth. (Does that count as a deep dark secret?) I’m lucky if my kids don’t know their Christmas gifts before December 25. It’s one of the reasons I don’t write mysteries. My readers would know the killer’s identity in the second chapter.

               

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Gina. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt J

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Gina, please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

