Author Profile – Mari Arden

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Mari Arden !

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Flame by Mari Arden

Flame by Mari Arden

Title: Flame: a Fireborn novel

Author: Mari Arden

Genre: YA
Blurb:

Some secrets change your life forever.         

Have you ever felt invisible? I do. Everyday. I can’t get close to anyone, and people can’t get close to me. Everytime I feel a friendship beginning, something inevitably happens, and I become invisible again. Unseen. Ignored. It’s been a part of me for so long that it’s hard to imagine anything different.

Then the Saguinox arrive, and my life is forever altered. People are fascinated by these beautiful creatures who look and talk like us. They’re alluring. Seductive. Intoxicating. And two of them are going to my school. Rhys is everything I shouldn’t want, but his eyes are like something from a memory. I can’t help but be intrigued. He’s the only one who can really see me.

Some secrets you’re better off not knowing. 

I had been found on a cold winter night with nothing but a blanket, and ashes covering my skin. My mother saved me from death, and took me in with love. But she couldn’t save herself. I didn’t think heroes were real anymore until the day Kaiden saved me. I couldn’t believe in miracles until the day he revealed I was the miracle they had all been hoping for. Deep inside I always knew my past mattered.

I just didn’t know my life would depend on it.

Release Date: March 13, 2013
Where to buy: AMAZON: http://www.amazon.com/Flame-Fireborn-ebook/dp/B00BSGCQDY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363298749&sr=8-1&keywords=flame+mari+arden 

BARNES AND NOBLES: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/flame-mari-arden/1114816913?ean=2940016239408

Reviews:

Words Escape Me: http://kristonjohnson.blogspot.com/ 

Mari Arden has a fresh voice and does a fantastic job brining this entertaining story to life. Her characters live in a world far from ordinary where an alien race has made themselves known to Earth and are generously welcomed into today’s society. 

Kenna is a likable character with a mysterious past that we learn right along with her. Though she spends most of her time alone and is easily ignored, Kenna is not one to sit around and take pity on herself.

Then enters Rhys. Rhys is attractive, intriguing and it is not long before Kenna is paying attention to him. He keeps to himself at first, but when we get into the meat of the plot his true character is revealed and he really stands out. 

Flame is an enjoyable read and moves along at a steady pace. Combined with a solid plot and well-developed characters I recommend the read.  

Snippet:

He walks closer until his chest touches my shoulder. He puts his arms around and over my body as if hiding me from the startled gazes of my peers. This close I can smell his clean, musky scent. It smells like a combination of mint, linen and wood. He fumbles with the lock, turning it the way I demonstrated. I look ahead, my heart beating faster.

             “It’s not working.” He sounds a little embarrassed.

            I take a peek at the throng of people behind us. It’s grown larger.

            Rhys’s bodyguard tries to look inconspicuous, but it’s hard to hide a six and half foot frame. His body’s a tall street light among smaller lampposts. His eyes scan the group surrounding us, but remains where he is.

            “Maybe you’ll just have to help me everyday,” Rhys half jokes.

            My breath catches in my throat.

            He sees something on my face. Suddenly there’s a mischievous glint in his eye. “Don’t look so scared. I’m not planning on probing you.”

            Whatever awkwardness is between us breaks. I laugh. Letterman had done his top ten alien pick up lines last week and number one was: wanna get probed?

            “Someone must’ve shot you with a phaser set on ‘stunning’,” I quip back, remembering number ten on the list.

            “Are you a carbon based model?” Number eight.

            Putting my hand over my heart, I say, “Of all the planets in all the solar systems in all the galaxies, you had to walk into mine…”

            “How about a close encounter with the pantless kind?”

            Holding back a laugh I say, “I know you’re an alien because you’ve just abducted my heart.”

            His eyes sparkle.

            Am I flirting? It’s never happened before.

            I can’t stop smiling. “Do you understand everything you’re saying?”

            “Not quite everything,” he admits, with a little laugh. “But according to the T.V. audience that list was very funny.”

            Snap.

            He moves closer to me until he’s all I see, hear or smell.

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I started doing it for fun in middle school. I knew it was bad when I’d rather sit on the computer downstairs than go out with my friends. Or eat.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I wanted to be an ice skater until I tried it and realized I didn’t like it nor was I any good. Then I decided I wanted to be a teacher. Guess what? It happened. I teach first grade and write on the side. Or maybe I can say I write and teach on the side? 🙂

3        What drew you to writing YA stories? 

YA is one of the most exhilarating times of our life. First kiss. First love. First beer, err, first college experience. I get to relive that time over and over again when I write YA. 

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

All of my ideas are inspired by things I see and hear. Music. Art. Other authors. The voices in my head 🙂

5        What has your experience been like publishing with SELF PUBLISHER? 

This indie world I’ve entered into has been AMAZING! People are supportive, gracious and kind. It’s a lot of work to write a book and publish it on your own, but authors are incredibly helpful. It doesn’t feel like you’re doing it all on your own, and that’s what I love the best.

6        Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

When I saw the digital version of my book on sale:

I squealed. I fanned myself. I petted my laptop. 

When I saw the paperback of my book:

I squealed. I fanned myself. I petted the book. And, yes, I kissed it. 

7        Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

This isn’t a dark secret, or particularly deep BUT I may or may not be on the cover of a trilogy written by one of my favorite authors, Jessica Sorenson. 🙂

 

Links:

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Flame: a Fireborn novel. This book sounds great!

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Mari Arden please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

