Author Profile – Angella Graff

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Angella Graff !

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

The Judas Kiss by Angella Graff

The Judas Kiss by Angella Graff

Title: The Judas Kiss

Author: Angella Graff

Genre: Contemporary Fantasy/ Contemporary Mythology
Blurb: In the next Installment of The Judas Curse, Detective Ben Stanford is ready to put the past at rest. Without warning, he’s pulled down once again into the chaos of gods, theology, and mystery. Told that his sister is alive and the two immortals, Mark and Judas, have been kidnapped by the treacherous goddess, Nike, Ben must find a way to rescue the pair before she can harness their powers.

While Mark waits alone, forced to write out the story of how their powers came to be, and Judas lay tortured by the angry Goddess, a reluctant Ben must enlist the help of a hesitant being from the ancient Norse Pantheon.

Time is ticking, and the hard-headed detective must use everything he learned in the past to prevent another disaster, which could potentially wipe-out the human race.

Release Date:  20 February 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon
Reviews: 6 five star reviews on amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/The-Judas-Kiss-Curse-ebook/dp/B00BJ6FV7Q/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1 (US)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00BJ6FV7Q/ref=s9_simh_gw_p351_d3_i1?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1ZT5MCCQGR0B739TJT5A&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=358549767&pf_rd_i=468294 (UK)

Other Work: The Awakening

Snippet:

“Oh,” he said with realization, though his voice showed little inflection.  “Abby.”

            Her eyes widened.  “There was a rumor going around that you could do that,” she said, putting her hands on her slender hips.  She cocked her head to the side and stared at him.  “Reading minds, knowing things you shouldn’t.  Can you read my mind right now?”

            “No.  Your consciousness isn’t human,” Jude said in the same dead tone.  “It’s not really mind-reading with humans, anyway.  More of an onslaught of the prayers they send out into the world.  If I could turn it off I would; I don’t like it.”

            “Why not?” she asked with a wry grin.

            Jude looked at her and mimicked her smile.  “Because they have nothing good to say.  It’s all selfish dribble, begging God to pay their mortgage, stop their addictions, make their children behave, bring them someone to love at night.  They’re never willing to help themselves, and it’s pathetic.”

            She looked mildly surprised by the answer, and after a moment, she threw back her head and laughed.  “Well, I think I might like you after all, which is good, because your buddy over there is a serious drag.”

            “He means well,” Jude said, finally turning his head far to the left to catch a glimpse of his companion who lay on a small cot, his pants seared, skin bright red with burns.  He looked back up at the god and lifted an eyebrow.  “You blew up our apartment.”

            “I did,” she said, spreading her hands out.  “You’ll have to forgive me for the dramatics, but the pair of you have proven fairly difficult to capture.”

            “Mark is clever,” Jude said with a shrug.  He struggled against the bonds a little, finding them itchy and pointless.  He wasn’t going to run, but he knew there was no way he could make her understand that.  “He’s also protective of my life, for some reason.”

            “And you’re not?”

            “Why protect something that doesn’t need protecting?” Jude asked quietly.  “I’m not going to die, and if by some miracle I did, it would be a sweet, blessed relief from this hell.”

            “And they said you’re the crazy one,” she said with a laugh.

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I think as long as I could put pen to paper and form coherent sentences I’ve been writing.  I wrote my first (thankfully unpublished) novel when I was about fifteen.  While all of my friends would be out playing and hanging out, you’d find me curled up in my room scribbling away in my massive pile of notebooks. 

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Yes I’ve definitely always wanted to be a writer.  There were times when I was young when I wanted to be an Egyptologist or Archaeologist.  My second passion and love is history, particularly religious history, so when I got my degree I ended with a theology degree.  I had the intent to teach, but I could never shake the desire to become an author, so after talking it over for months, my husband finally convinced me to give this career path a try.

3        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

Truthfully, most of them came from random ideas that popped into my head while I was in class studying the gospels.  The idea that Judas and Jesus were brothers and twins came from the very first line in the Gnostic Gospel of Thomas, where it says, “These are the secret sayings that the living Jesus spoke, and Judas Thomas the Twin wrote down.” 

I remember getting struck with the idea because the lesson I’d had previously stated Jesus had a brother named Judas/Judah and it just never left me.  The rest of the story, with the gods, detectives, etc sort of formed around that one story I wanted to tell, and the book grew a mind of its own.

4        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

My favourite chapter were the Mark chapters in the book.  I’ve had the idea of Mark and Judas’s back story written down in my head for so long that when it got to those parts, I just flew through it.  I’m a big historical novel geek, so getting to dive into a land two-thousand years ago was a huge treat for me.

5        How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

When I write places that the characters live in or visit, I try and stick to places I’ve been.  I prefer my writing to be as organic as I can make it, so I like to write what I know, as far as scenery and location.  Of course sometimes I don’t have the opportunity to experience a place, like ancient Alexandria and the destroyed library, but when I come to something like that I do as much research as I can. 

As for the names, I usually run through a lot before I find the name that fits the character.  My characters have been known to get a new name even after the first draft manuscript has been completed.  And I’ll tell you, baby name websites are a huge help haha!

6        How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That depends a lot on the book itself, and how connected to the story I am.  With The Awakening, which was the first book, it took me about six to eight weeks to complete the manuscript.  It was a tough one because I was trying to build a brand new world and develop new characters.  With The Judas Kiss I already had that world and characters, and I knew a lot of what I wanted to say, so it was done in about three weeks, before the editing process, of course. 

7        What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Now I’ve been asked this, and I’ve asked this question of writers a lot, and most of the answers tend to be along the lines of, “Just don’t give up, follow your dream,” etc. 

Well that is all true and very good advice, but I’m going to give the advice that I wished someone had given me– Grow tough skin as quickly as you can.  Being a writer means that you are putting your work out there for others to critique.  Some people will drag your book through the mud, or even make personal attacks and insults simply because they don’t like your writing.  

The truth is, at some point you’ll get a bad review, and probably more than one, and it hurts.  Every time.  It doesn’t get easier, you just learn to deal with it better.  When I get negative reviews now, instead of thinking, “Oh god why am I even doing this, I’m horrible, terrible, everything they said about me is true!!”  *sob sob*, I try and pick apart the review and take at least one thing away with me that I can use to improve my next book. 

It doesn’t mean that the negative feedback hurts any less, it just means I’ve learned to use it constructively.  Just be prepared for that, because if you don’t prepare yourself for some stranger, who has no idea how hard and how long you worked on your manuscript, to tear it to shreds, you’re in for a big shock.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Angella Graff. This does sound like a good book and fantastic advice!

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Angella Graff please write them in the comments section below.

One thought on “Author Profile – Angella Graff

  1. Pingback: Papi Talk! With Angella Graff | The Literary Syndicate

Please leave a comment

