Author Profile – Jennifer Raygoza

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Jennifer Raygoza !

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Jennifer Raygoza

Jennifer Raygoza

Title: The Guardians

Author: Jennifer Raygoza 

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
Blurb:

The Guardians is a compelling tale focused on love, pain and sacrifice. The battle of good versus evil. The question is who will win

Gianna Botticelli is the daughter to a Los Angeles Mafia boss. Although content working for her father, she mentally struggles with her mother’s death—and life choices after her passing. But everything she knows will change when she meets the sexy, mysterious Caleb.

Who is he? What is he? How does he know things? Gianna finds herself struggling with her feelings for him—and the sacrifices she will have to make as Caleb introduces her to a world unknown. Will she have to sacrifice herself to save everyone and everything?

Sexy and entertaining, this book is for mature vampire lovers. I challenge you not to fall in love with Gianna and Caleb.

WARNING: This book contains violence, adult language, and passionate love scenes.

Release Date: Available Now!
Where to buy: Amazon-but will be available on all platforms this summer

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I actually started writing poems when I was younger. I have a few of them published. I started writing this book about 5 years ago on and off.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I was going to college to become a marriage counsellor but some life events changed that path. I did always want to write a book but just never had the right words.

3        What drew you to writing vampire stories?

I have also had a fascination with vampire movies, and then I developed a love for vampire books so I thought I would give it a go.

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

I get inspired through music or movies. I get inspired from people.

5        What has your experience been like self-publishing? 

It has been a bumpy road. It’s just me. I don’t have the man power of a publishing house to do it all. When you self-publish you have to work twice as hard to get your book out there. I have learned so much these past few months and I don’t think readers realize the work indie writers put into their books.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I love Chapter 1. My lead characters are getting to know each other and the tension and possible love interest are there. You get to watch them unfold together.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

I write everywhere. I do love writing at my desk with my headphones blasting in my ear.

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I do. I get a glass of water ready for thirsty moments. I put a pillow behind my back. I find the perfect music to suit the scene and then I write away.

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

I wrote most of this book on a tablet. I am working on part 2 currently. That book has been mostly written on my desktop PC with a few notes on paper.

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

They usually just fall into my head. After I wrote this book I realized I lean toward names that begin with ‘C’. Sometimes I have to look up a few names that I like.

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Yes! I learned that I am still not great at punctuation, and grammar. I learned that all that doesn’t matter, that I can still write an amazing book. I have learned what I am capable of, and it feels good.

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That I can’t answer. The first book was written here and there. I am working on my second book, and have actually dedicated time to it each day. I may have a better answer after I finish this next book.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

I was excited and then I was nervous. I was worried that people may not like it.

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

I like EL James and Stephanie Meyers. I love that when you read their work you can’t put the books down.

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have. I just had a scene that I had a hard time putting together and I was trying to force it. I had to step away from the desk for a few days and let my mind slowly build the scene.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

For every ten good reviews you get for your work, there is going to be one bad review that just knocks those good ones out. It’s going to hurt for a little bit but just remember that not everyone is going to like your book. There are a ton of people who just love to tear everything down to the core. Just trust in your work.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

(Exhale) I have to sleep with a nightlight on. I really hate the dark.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Jennifer Raygoza. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say!

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Jennifer Raygoza please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

