Author Profile & My Reviews – Marantha D. Jenelle

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Marantha D. Jenelle!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Impossible Love by Marantha D. Jenelle

Impossible Love by Marantha D. Jenelle

Title: Impossible Love

Author: Marantha D. Jenelle

Genre: Fantasy, Scifi, Horror and Pagan
Blurb: Khrystiana had always been different, a difference that had kept her from being chosen from amongst the other children at the orphanage. She had always been more or less alone, for not only the children mostly avoided her, the staff did as well. Khrystiana would learn on her sixteenth birthday just how different she truly was, due to a series of event that would occur… Events that would prove that she had not been as alone as she had always thought.

Release Date: 20th April 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon, Createspace
My Review of the book:

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Wonderful Short Story 

30 May 2013

By Georgina Hannan

Format: Paperback | Amazon Verified Purchase

‘Impossible Love’ is a wonderful short story, which explores life, death, love and pain.
It is a well written, easy flowing read, filled with drama and emotion.
You are drawn into the story and empathize with the main characters.
I would highly recommend it.

 

Irony by Marantha D. Jenelle

Irony by Marantha D. Jenelle

Title: Irony

Author: Marantha D. Jenelle

Genre: Fantasy, Scifi, Horror and Pagan
Blurb: For superna refuge leader, Hathim, being in the middle of a centuries old war with the pure-bloods was bad enough. He certainly did not need the added burden of learning that there might be a traitor amongst those at his refuge as well. That all paled into insignificance, however, when rumors began spreading that the humans had developed a poison lethal only to hybrids. When members of his own refuge begin dying of a strange illness, Hathim knows he has only one recourse… He must track down and totally destroy the place that is manufacturing the poison, and its creators. His biggest challenge? Staying alive long enough to do it.

Release Date: 25th April 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon, Createspace
My Review of the book:

4.0 out of 5 stars 

Unique Take on Supernatural 

20 Jun 2013

By Georgina Hannan

Amazon Verified Purchase

‘Irony’ by Marantha D. Jenelle is a unique and strange take on supernatural beings.
I’ve never read anything like this; as a result it took a bit longer for me to fully engage with the book. However, it did keep me hooked until the end.
It’s a great story-line and one everyone should check out.
The types of characters are fantastic; all the different were creatures she’s envisioned.
I would definitely recommend it.

Homeward Bound by Marantha D. Jenelle

Homeward Bound by Marantha D. Jenelle

Title: Homeward Bound

Author: Marantha D. Jenelle

Genre: Fantasy, Scifi, Horror and Pagan
Blurb: For young Sharon Maitland, she was about to discover, shortly after her sixteenth birthday, that her entire life had been based on lies. That would prove to be the least of the shocks that she would undergo in the months following her birthday- One of which would forever shatter her belief in reality as she had always known it.

Release Date: 17th July 2012
Where to buy:  Amazon, Createspace
My Review of the book:

4.0 out of 5 stars 

Unusual and Gripping 

11 Jun 2013

By Georgina Hannan

Format: Paperback |Amazon Verified Purchase

“Homeward Bound” is a great book for any age.
The writer really makes you feel attached to the main character Sharon.
The story line is good and easy to follow and unusual, it was not what I expected.
I was gripped throughout though always wanting to know what happens next.
I was left wondering why the writer chose Sharon’s 16th birthday and not any other but it does not ruin the story line.
“Homeward Bound” is well worth and read and I’d definitely recommend it.

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I first started writing about nine years ago at the suggestion of my then councillor. She told me that keeping a journal would help me to work through some of my unresolved issues. Long story short, I found that I could not write when I wrote AS myself, but I could write about some of what was bugging me if it was in the context of it happening to a fictional character. I have always had an active imagination, even as a child. Books became my escape from the reality of a world where I was never accepted, but rather was often mocked, teased, tormented, ridiculed, reviled and even abused, not only mentally and emotionally, but physically as well. 

My councillor turned out to be right in a way, for when I wrote I found a semblance of peace. I had written for about two years when I was younger, on every surface I could find, from construction paper to the paper wrapper toilet tissue used to come in to grocery bags, using whatever means of writing instrumentation that I could get my hands on. The stories were always about a world in which I was protected, cherished, respected…but most of all where I was loved. I hid the writings in a corner of my closet. My mother found them one day, read them, burned them and beat me so bad I couldn’t lay on my back for three days. I did not write another word until my councillor advised me it might help. And it has.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

To tell the truth, I never really thought of being ANYTHING. I thought I was too stupid, too ignorant, too slow to deserve having anything good happen to me. After all, with all of the people telling me how worthless I was, how undeserving of anything other than mockery and abuse, how could so many be wrong? What right did I have to dream?  

That attitude stuck with me my entire life, up until the day that councilor told me about writing. The day I finished my first story, rough and ragged though it was, and posted it on line was the day that my way of viewing myself began to change. The day I got the first comment telling me that something that I had created had found favor in at least one person’s eyes was the turning point. It gave me the courage to write and post more, admittedly hesitantly at first, but with each comment and acceptance of my humble offerings, I grew to realize a little more that maybe I wasn’t as worthless as I had thought.

It is a lesson I am still learning, for the demons of self doubt held me far too long and are reluctant to relinquish their power over me. But they grow weaker with each passing day.

3        What drew you to writing Fantasy, Scifi, Horror and Pagan  stories? 

I have been drawn to the mystical, the magical, really anything to do with the old ways and the old ones ever since I can remember. It is why I finally followed my heart and set foot on the Pagan path. When I write a fantasy story, I am no longer bound by the rules that people have tried to impose on me my entire life, no longer forced to torture myself trying to become what they wanted me to be, how they wanted me to be. When I write my fantasy stories, for that brief time, I am able to wander the highways and byways of my heart, mind and soul, free, should I desire, to swim with mermaids, fly with might dragons, cast spells of enchantment that would make the world a better place.

Where my scifi stories are concerned, they allow me to set free the flights of ‘what if’ possibilities in my mind. Those stories contain both heroes and creatures of terror. 

As for my horror stories…ah, as the saying goes…’therein lies another tale’…for it is my horror stories that allow me to vent my frustration, pain, rage or whatever other negative emotion I might have in a healthy way. When I write my horror stories, I almost always see the villain of the story as getting their just rewards in the most painful, devastating and destructive way possible, and the villain is always the representation of anyone who has hurt me. The methods for their destruction are varied, but let’s just put it this way…it is a VERY good thing I do not really possess magical powers, for there would be a lot of people who more than likely would not survive what I envision for them.

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

For this I can only offer this…I do not choose the words, they choose me. Unlike most writers, I do not plan my stories. A story can be triggered by an overheard word, a few notes of music, a memory, a prompt posted by another writer or any other of a myriad of reasons, but one thing holds true throughout…one moment the story is not there, the next words are flooding my mind and I have no choice but to free them.

5        What has your experience been like publishing with THG StarDragon Publishing (http://www.thgstardragon.com/)? 

Teresa Garcia, the lady who not only edits my stories she also converts them to e-book, is one of the most wonderful women I have ever met. I would highly recommend her.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I don’t really have a favorite chapter, for at the time the story is flowing through my head, it is all I can do just to keep up with it.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

The safety of my home.

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

When the words come, I just free them. I have no choice, for if I fight them, I end up with a major migraine.

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

All of my work is done on the computer.

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I do not choose any of it, it simply falls in as the story flows from my mind to my hands to the screen.

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Oh wow, this is a tough one. If I had to choose only one thing that I have learned from my stories, it is that I am capable of far more than I ever believed. And that lesson is the most important. I may never become a household word, or even sell more than just enough of my books to be able to afford a few things now and then, but just knowing, deep down, that I am not worthless, that I do have something worthwhile to offer, is worth more than all of the money in the world.

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That can vary, depending on whether my bipolar symptoms are flaring or other outside forces keep me distracted.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

A sense of pride quickly followed by a sense of betrayal when I learned that the previous publisher had sold four of my books and not credited me with the sales.

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

  • Anne Rice
  • Anne McCaffrey
  • Zane Grey
  • Louis L’Amour
  • Emile Loring
  • Grace Livingston Hill
  • The author of THE BLACK CAULDRON
  • Piers Anthony
  • And many more

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

To tell the truth, about the only time the words do not come is when I try to consciously will them into existence. The minute I simply let them come to me, the problem is solved.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

The first thing I would tell them is to listen when their muse speaks. The second would be to never, ever lose faith in themselves. The third would be, when they have to leave their work for a while and then return to it, take the time to read at least the last two or three chapters they have already written. Nine times out of ten, their muse will awaken and pick up where she left off without them even realizing what is happening.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

My own mother hated me so much that she slapped me hard enough to knock me down and then sent me to my room, where she locked me in for three days, when I stood before her with blood stained legs and a dislocated shoulder after one of her ‘flavor of the week’ ‘companions’ abused me in many ways. I learned on that day just what true hatred was…and my true worth.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Marantha. You have had a rough life but still managed to channel it into something good.

All three of your books are good and I enjoyed reading them very much.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Marantha please write them in the comments section below.

5 thoughts on “Author Profile & My Reviews – Marantha D. Jenelle

  1. Dearest Georgie, you will never know how much this means to me. I promise you that the minute my two stores are set up I am going to treat myself to however long it takes to finish your own stories. If the first one is even close to what it was when I was working with you (was that really two years ago? So much has happened since then!) I know already that I am in for a truly delightful treat.

    I wish you all of the best, sweet lady. Also, once I get the stores set up and give them a month or two to see what their reaction will be, I want to host you on both of them.

    Wishing you a multitude of blessings,

    Marantha D. Jenelle/aka MARADJEN

  2. Pingback: Always in our hearts | Author World

Please leave a comment

