Author Profile – Barry E. Woodham

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Barry E Woodham.

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Titles:

  • Book 1 – Genesis 2,
  • Book 2 – Genesis Debt,
  • Book 3 – Genesis Weapon,
  • Book 4 – Genesis Search,
  • Book 5 – Genesis 3 – A New Beginning.
  • Elf War. Molock ’s Wand – being written.
  • Tales of the Ferryman – free on my blog.
  • + Ghost stories

Author: Barry E Woodham

Genre: Science Fiction
Blurb: See on blog

Release Date: Now
Where to buy:  Amazon
Reviews: Amazon

Blog: http://sci-fiauthor.blogspot.co.uk

Before we move on to the interview could we have a little snippet from the book?

First chapter of Genesis 2 & Elf War on my blog.

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?   

1997.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I was a design draughtsman working on the nuclear fusion project.

3        What drew you to writing Science fiction stories?  

55 years of reading them!

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

A wide knowledge of science and the application of fusing fact with fiction.

5        What has your experience been like publishing with Memoirs Publishing?

Very helpful in self-publishing and promoting my work.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I have no favourite chapters. I just enjoy being a storyteller and using my imagination!

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

In my study

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

No! I just sit down and write!

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

I always use my computer and file everything!

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I rely on my imagination, but I do use Google to search out elvish names and mystical backgrounds. This for Elf War etc.

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

The greatest gift a human being can give is to be able to entertain. Just one person saying that they enjoyed your books is the incentive to keep writing. We feed the HERD! To do this requires imagination above the levels that exist in others.

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Probably about a year.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Amazement that all that writing came from me! Now when I look at six books and a seventh on the way, I am still amazed!

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

I have many. David Brin, Julian May, Tad Williams and about a hundred others!

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I wrote something else! I got blocked on Genesis 3 and had an idea that led to writing Elf War. This took over and when I finished it, I returned to Genesis 3 with fresh ideas and finished it. I also wrote different Tales of the Ferryman as a change.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Write because you enjoy it. Seek to entertain your readership rather than thrust your ideas into their minds. Do not try to teach- entertain. If you are told that you have enthralled someone – that is the prize! Do it for that, not expecting wads of money! I am just happy that there are people all over this world who have enjoyed my writings. Remember one thing, until you write it, it does not exist!

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

I have found that to soar on the wings of imagination is a lonely thing. It is far better to take somebody with you! I once wrote my eldest granddaughter into the world of elves. This was my way of trying to make sure that she would remember her grandfather. If nothing else I have given her, I hope, a sense of wonder and a magic granddad!

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, The Genesis Projeect & Elf War. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Barry E Woodham please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

