Author Profile – Heidi McLaughlin

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Heidi McLaughlin!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

My Everything by Heidi McLaughlin

My Everything by Heidi McLaughlin

Title: My Everything

Author: Heidi McLaughlin

Genre: Adult Contemp

Blurb: From USA Bestselling Novel ~ Forever My Girl comes a Beaumont Series novella

When Nick Ashford lost his friend, Mason, he didn’t realize he was going to lose his family as well, but that’s exactly what happened. Alone and in a foreign country, Nick is working on rebuilding his life one patient at a time, that is, until a striking volunteer makes her presence known. 

Can Nick finish his year in Africa without risking his heart being broken again, or is he willing to start a new chapter in his life before his return to Beaumont? 

Release Date:  March 18, 2013
Where to buy:  Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo
Reviews:  I was wondering what had become of Nick after he had left Beaumont and this is certainly an endearing revelation.

Getting to see how Nick’ s time in Africa was affecting him and wondering if he could purge the hurt in his heart that is Josie was fulfilling. The lovely girl, Aubrey, that captures his heart and gives him the strength and encouragement to face his fears of seeing Josie, Liam, and Noah again really completes Nick as a person and makes him whole again.

I immensely enjoyed seeing the resurrection of Nick’ s heart and soul after Josie. Heidi has once again written a captivating and engaging insight into what it takes to heal a broken heart and set it back on the proper path of loving another. Very well done, Heidi. – B

Other Work:  Forever My Girl

Snippet:

A light snore reminds me that I’m not alone. The heaviness of a body sprawled out, sets me off immediately. The stale smell of day old perfume lingers in the air and on my sheets.

The curtains are pulled back, the sun shining through the large window which affords me the best view and privacy.

Rolling over, there’s a face I don’t remember. A face that holds no name in my recollection or any vivid memory of how she ended up in my hotel room let alone my bed.

The bed part I can probably figure out.

The blonde hair tells me that I didn’t bother to get her name or ask her what her favorite drink was. Guaranteed our conversation was eyes, hands and lips only. There is one hair color that can make my heart beat and blonde isn’t it.

Neither is red.

Eyes too.

Never blue.

They have to be brown or green, never blue.

This isn’t a downward spiral or some drug induced moment. I don’t do drugs, never have, but I may drink excessively on occasions like last night. This is me coping with my mistakes and failures. I may be successful when I’m on stage, but at night I’m alone.

And so freaking scared of dying alone.

I reach for my phone to check the time. Instead I pull up the gallery that holds her image, my thumb hovering over her face. I’ll see her when I go home and I don’t know what I’ll say.

I know she hates me.

I hate me.

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

About 2-3 years ago. I have a YA contemp story I’ve been slowly working on, plus a YA paranormal that is done, but needs to be re-written

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Yes and no. When I had the dream, it was so strict to achieve. Thought I’d be a lawyer, but life turned out differently.

3        What drew you to writing Adult contemp stories? 

I can pull from real-life experiences.

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

Forever My Girl came from a single photo – crazy I know, but I saw this image and this story flooded my mind.

5        What has your experience been like publishing?

I self-publish – and the experience is pretty freaking amazing

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

In My Everything – When Nick finally realizes that just because he’s not with Josie, doesn’t mean he can’t be a part of Noah’s life.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

Ironically, I get a lot of writing done when I’m in the car waiting for my daughter’s basketball practice to be over.

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I need noise that doesn’t distract me. For instance: If I’m home, I need quiet. I can’t listen to my family talk or watch TV. But if I go to a basketball practice or a café – I can hammer out a thousand words just like that.

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer?

I use a laptop and a computer – alternating depending on where I’m at when writing. When I wrote my YA stories – I used pen & paper for some of it.

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I like locations that don’t exist. I don’t want to “place” my character is a place where someone lives and they come back and say – that’s not what the town is like. As far as naming my characters – that’s hard. Most of the time I’ll profile them and the name comes later.

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

Trust my beta’s

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Between 3-5 months.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Panic

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

I don’t really have any faves. I used to read a lot until I focused on writing. Now I’m lucky if I get in a book a month.

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have. I brainstorm with my best friend, Yvette. We work out the scene fully and what the characters would do and not do.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Find a mentor who knows what they are doing and has been successful and listen to them. Not a group, but one.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

When I’m home, I write in my pajamas. It doesn’t matter what time of day it is.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your book, My Everything. This book sounds rather exciting I must say! 🙂

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Heidi McLaughlin please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

