Grammarly Review

Grammarly

Grammarly

Recently I received the pleasure of trialing a Grammarly Premium account.

I have the chance to offer 5 of you free 3-month premium account of Grammarly (see end for details). 

For those of you who don’t know what Grammarly is – it’s a grammar checker basically. You got to the website (http://www.grammarly.com), log in to your free basic account or premium account, and copy and paste a piece of writing into the box and click “Start Review”. There are lots of different kinds of reviews but mostly I pick General.

It will then search through your extract for the following:

  • Contextual Spelling Check
  • Grammar
  • Punctuation
  • Style and Word Choice
  • Plagiarism

It will highlight how many issues have been found and give it a score out of 100. All you then need to do is look at each issue and resolve. However, the free basic account does not let you do this, it just lists the errors but doesn’t show you where in the extract they are.

The premium account lets you download a word add-on. This means you can scan your entire document from Microsoft Word!

The only down side to this is, if like me you were trying to use it to review a 40,000 odd word document then the reviewing takes ages!

Having said that I have been very happy and impressed with the tool and I plan on keeping my free basic account and will definitely use it as a means of editing.

Premium Account Payment Options:

Monthly: $29.95 / £19.50 (roughly)

Quarterly: $59.95 ($19.98 per month) / £39.00 (roughly)

Yearly: $139.95 ($11.66 per month) / £91.00 (roughly)

Overall Stats:

Ease of use: 5 out of 5

Practicality of free basic account: 3 out of 5

Value for money – free account: 3 out of 5

Value for money – premium account: 5 out of 5

I would recommend it to anyone who cannot afford the professional editing fees.

I have the chance to offer 5 of you free 3-month premium account of Grammarly.

TO WIN:

Comment below and the first 5 people to comment WITH correct email addresses, will have their details passed on to Grammarly and will receive their free 3-month premium account.

12 thoughts on “Grammarly Review

  1. I was searching in the web for any review about ‘Grammarly’ and I consider myself lucky to find your pages.
    If it is possible, You could send me the account at my email address.

      • Email and Login credential received.
        I really like the password. 😀
        Somewhat make me love Grammarly. 😀

        If you don’t mind, I could share the URL of this blog and the offer to DigitalPoint forum. I will do that only if you allow me to do so.
        By the way, Here is my profile:
        Arick in Digital Point Forum.
        I believe many people would be really happy to hear your offer.
        Alternatively, you may want to share it by yourself. There are many great writers in that forum but most of them didn’t write novel or books. They write for website and newspaper.

      • Opps, I didn’t know if the offer already expired.
        I would share it next time when you have another ‘excellent offer’.

        About sharing links, I clearly understand about it. I always put ‘Disclaimer’ whenever I share link from any excellent blog. I always describe each parties carefully.

        Best of luck to your books. The cover looks somewhat ‘scary’. 😀
        I’m kidding btw. 😀

  2. Pingback: A Few Resources for Writers | Robert Medak

  3. Hi , I’m looking for information about grammarly and I found out your blog. Also I want to know if there is one free subscription, because you said in the post that you had 5 premium accounts. It is possible to acces one of the subscriptions?

Please leave a comment

