Author Profile – Christina Diane

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Christina Diane !

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author! 

My Little Luna by Christina BustamanteTitle: My Little Luna            

Author: Christina Diane

Genre: Teen Fiction/Young Adult
Blurb: The author takes you through the heartbreaking months of a young girl facing a new life, death of a loved one, rocky friendships and responsibilities of a younger brother.
Her pregnancy made her mature and at the end she chose the most selfless decision a young girl can make.

Release Date: February 28, 2013
Where to buy: Amazon.com
Reviews: Reviews can be found on http://www.amazon.com

Other Work: Currently working my second novel, “Mystic Shadows” which I am thinking of turning into a two part series!

Before we move on to the interview could we have a little snippet from the book? 

The sharp stabbing pains woke me from a deep sleep. I grew more terrified by the minute. The gnawing pain intensified deep within my body.

            The surges of pain overtook my body releasing abruptly, in a futile attempt I tried to make the pain go away, rubbing my rock hard belly even tried to change positions but nothing was working.

 The pain kept coming, getting closer and closer together. I was in labor. I slowly sat up on the edge of my bed. Took a deep breath as the next contraction came and slowly went away.

             As I stood up a gush of water ran down my leg. My water broke. I slowly walked out of my room, as I ambled my way down the dark hallway, the contractions were getting harder and closer together.

            I knocked on my grandmother’s door, quietly letting myself in. I switched on the small lamp on her bedside table.

            “Grandma,” I whispered. “I’m in labor, my water broke.”

            I got closer to her bed the room was quiet. I leaned into to whisper in her ear. “Grandma, the baby, I think it’s time.”

            Something wasn’t right, as I leaned in closer I could hear her breathing but her breaths were shallow. I felt her, she was cold to the touch and her skin was clammy. She was not responding to my voice.

            Another contraction, another trickle of water ran down my leg. I clenched my fist and hunched over when the contractions got harder. I screamed.

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I have been writing since I was first able to hold a pencil the correct way. I have always had a passion for writing, and enjoy bringing my characters to life.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I have always wanted to do something when it comes to writing.. I have worked jobs as a newspaper reporter, but nothing comes close to sitting down at my computer and letting the ideas flow.

3        What drew you to writing Young Adult stories? 

This book is my baby it took me over a year to write and I had some misfortunes happen when I began and just this book to heart… I tend to dabble in other genres as well though!

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

My family is a big inspiration and a great motivator… When I was 17 I became pregnant and I kept the baby, however, as I grew up and grew older I now realize it was a selfish decision on my part and hope that other teens out there understand what they are getting themselves into when it comes to raising a child

5        What has your experience been like publishing with Amazon?  

I have only self published on Amazon, and it is taking a lot of patience to just get noticed.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

My favorite chapter was when she was sitting on the porch swing watching the sunset with her grandmother something she had never done before. Her grandmother was dying from cancer and my character was overwhelmed with guilt and anger but yet sitting there with her grandmother she sensed a bit of peace.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

In my office, in the middle of the night! LOL

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I play music on my music player (mostly country it sets the mood) and I do it from the comfort of my bed at 2 am when my brain decides to start working LOL

9        How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Anywhere from three months, 6 months to a year I am a stay at home mom with 6 kids so I make them my priority as well

10   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Over joyed! A Sense of accomplishment.

11   Who are some of your favourite authors?

Mary Higgens Clark, I have to say I have always enjoyed her work since I was in Jr. High V.C. Andrews was another

12   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

I have suffered many time with writers block and I just have to put the work aside go out and about doing other things and come back to it a little while longer.

13   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Write, Write and rewrite and don’t give up just because it is not making sense in the beginning the more you write and let your ideas flow  it will eventually get there… JUST DONT GIVE UP!

14   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

I currently have a few characters in limbo in my filing cabinet that on a regular basis yell at me wondering how much longer they are going to be stuck on that particular chapter I left off on… Lol 🙂

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your book, My Little Luna. This book sounds great! Good luck with the next book.

 

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Christina Diane please write them in the comments section below.

Please leave a comment

