Author Profile – Elodie Parkes

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Elodie Parkes!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

The Old Star by Elodie Parkes

The Old Star by Elodie Parkes

Title: The Old Star

Author: Elodie Parkes

Genre: Erotic romance with a twist of paranormal
Blurb:

She was looking for new office space…but it found her…what’s hidden in this spooky place?

When Cathy Faraday goes out from her office to buy morning tea, a set of circumstances send her on a different route from the one she would normally take. Waiting on a street unknown to her is a house. Old and left to fade away the house looks shabby against its neighbors. The whole row of houses are now offices and Cathy sees a ‘for let sign’ outside the place. Something draws her to the house. Someone watches from the third floor window.

Cathy applies to rent the building to expand her dating agency business. As she begins to make it ready, the house reveals its secrets.

Erotic romance, with a twist of paranormal, set in contemporary England this story will haunt you.

Graphic sex/love scenes. 18+ only.

Release Date:  August 23 from Hot Ink Press
Where to buy: Amazon

Find Elodie’s books:

Paperback

Find Elodie online:

Before we move on to the interview could we have a little snippet from the book?

The Old Star snippet, G rated

He stood up, and as they were face to face, Cathy compared the feeling of being close to him with that of being close to Owen. She didn’t feel anything but friendship for Matt, and suddenly wanted him to find someone to love.

“Have you called any of the matches I gave you the other day?”

He looked downcast. “No Cathy, you know…I find I can’t. I wish you’d give me a chance.”

Cathy shook her head. “Please Matt. I would like your friendship. You need love, romantic love and I can’t give it.”

He gazed at her for a few seconds, and then smiled, the hope coming back into his eyes.

“I’ll take friendship, it sometimes leads to love.”

Cathy sighed. “I have to go.”

“I’ll come too. Can I come too?”

“What about your work?”

“I’ll stay for an hour or so. Come on, it was fun the other night. Let me see how the cleaning went.”

Cathy capitulated. “Okay, but if I drive us then you’ll have to walk back to the high street, or wait until I leave.” She picked up a plastic bag and handed it to Matt as she carried her briefcase. “Clean coffee mugs.” She informed him as he looked inside at the tissue wrapped items.

****

Copyright Elodie Parkes 2013

 

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I was seventeen and had a few items published in teen magazines. I stopped writing for a while when life got in the way and then began again a few years ago because I had so many stories in my head.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I wanted to be a Vet, or work with animals somehow.

3        What drew you to writing Erotic romance stories?  Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

People and emotions inspire me to write. The complexity of life spurs me to write. I see emotions in people around me all the time, and often they remain unspoken. I think we don’t share ourselves enough, and are encouraged to hide our true selves. People and their situations inspire me. Meeting people and watching them battle with the love or lack of it in their lives.

Lots of my characters have some small foundation from real people who have passed through my life. They are composites of those glimpses of people and my imagination.

I find the world harsh. There’s not enough love in it. Lots of people never find love. I write contemporary love stories with happy endings to spread a little lightness around. I always have graphic love scenes in the close to real life stories, because I like to show the reader how the characters feel about each other deep down. The way they make love always shows their hopes and feelings.

I hope that my books do give the reader a lift and a sense of love.

4        What has your experience been like publishing with Hot Ink Press? 

Very good, everyone is friendly and we all help each other. There’s lots of interaction with the publisher and communication is excellent. They are right on time with the edits, covers and releases. It’s a joy.

5        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I have to say the whole book. It’s impossible for me to choose a chapter

6        Where is your favourite place to write?

In the garden room where I have a view of the rural countryside I live in.

7        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

No I just dash at my laptop when I have the time to write.

8        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

Laughs…I must have computers and technology, iPads, smartphones, tablets, laptops, I’m a tech junkie, I write on laptops. Read on iPads.

9        How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

They are there in my head with the idea for the story. It’s like this magic ting, suddenly a story will drop into my head and I know the names and places. I do sometimes have some inspiration from things. For instance, with The Old Star, the idea came to me after I visited an old building. I was sent to look at a couple of antiques in a building scheduled for demolition and rebuild. The place was very spooky and then suddenly this guy appeared. He owned the place and showed me the items for sale. He was very attractive. (Smiles)

It’s erotic, and a love story.

10    Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

I learned a couple of years ago that I miss my characters lots long after the story is written and the book published.

11    How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That’s not typical. It depends on the story entirely and often on my day job etc, having the time to write.

12    Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Fear.

13    Who are some of your favourite authors? 

Ruth Rendell, Christine Feehan, Robert Goddard, Charles Dickens, I love so many…

14    Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Never, well not so far (smiles)

15    What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Write, write no matter what anyone says about you, or your work, keep going and follow your heart.

16    Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

I wish I had one. I’m quite ordinary.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Elodie. This book sounds rather exciting and thrilling I must say! Plus you do have a lot of books under your belt.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Elodie please write them in the comments section below.

Elodie is running a celebration prize draw because she is so excited about this book. The Old Star.

First Prize, WIN a $25 Amazon gift voucher to buy what you want and the kindle copy of ‘The Old Star’ gifted from Amazon

The Old Star by Elodie Parkes

The Old Star by Elodie Parkes

Second prize, WIN a kindle copy gifted from Amazon of both ‘The Old Star’ and ‘The Winter Girl’ the latest release erotic romances.

The Winter Girl by Elodie Parkes

The Winter Girl by Elodie Parkes

Lily Prescott is only just over a relationship break up when she decides to take up residence in a house left to her by her recently deceased grandmother. Her corporate law job takes a back seat as she licks her wounds in the small country town. She looks around the main shopping street and discovers people who will befriend her, but she also runs into the town’s most eligible bachelor and secret bad boy, Starr Forrester.

Loved for his lifelong association with the town, Starr hides his methods for staying single well from his friends. He’s nearly thirty, gorgeous, a designer, owns a business and on the lookout for his ‘Winter Girl’….

Will it be Lily? What is a ‘Winter girl’?

Fun, sex, romance and a little twist of the paranormal, makes this a must read erotic romance.

Third prize, WIN the kindle copy gifted from Amazon of ‘The Last Time’

The Last Time by Elodie Parkes

The Last Time by Elodie Parkes

Steamy, erotic romance with a twist of mystery. Actor Seth Carbery swears he will never fall in love again, that is until he meets private detective Bethany Snow.

Something strange is going on. Seth and other members of the movie cast and crew are receiving threatening letters, but no threat has ever been carried out… yet. Bethany Snow is sent on location by the Black Agency to investigate, and guard Seth Carbery against danger.

The case is not what it first seems and even when Bethany thinks it could be over, a new twist means she becomes a target.

Seth and Bethany find they can’t keep their hands off each other.

Who is sending the letters and why? Does Seth have a secret admirer or stalker?

With steamy romance, graphic love scenes, and a quirky story of what people do for love this erotic romance is for adults only.

ALL prizes are international. Please enter via the rafflecopter and leave the address your prize would be gifted to if you win one of the three prizes. Choose any of the entry requirements not all.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/dd9e5325/

 

Book Trailers

Sexy new

 

Standard screen (this is different form sexy new)

 

Widescreen

One thought on “Author Profile – Elodie Parkes

Please leave a comment

