Author Profile – Aoife Marie Sheridan

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Aoife Marie Sheridan!

I hope you all enjoy this new/unknown author!

Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan

Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan

Title: Eden Forest (Part one of the Saskia Trilogy)
Author: Aoife Marie Sheridan

Genre: Fantasy
Blurb: Sarajane Anderson is your regular twenty one year old. With family, friends and a normal job. She also happens to be the only person who can save Saskia, a world parallel to earth.

When Sarajane is taken to Saskia, she could never have imagined the reality of the world she steps into, a world where magical abilities are in everyone’s possession.

She must face a father she never knew, a world that is beyond her belief. A guardian who captures her heart, and a darkness that wants to take it.
On this journey Sarajane discovers her magical abilities and realizes they come with a price. Sarajane is truly tested, as her loved ones are put at risk. The question she must ask herself is, how do you choose who lives and who dies?

Release Date: 13th of February 2013
Where to buy:

Watch the book trailer on youtube  
Reviews:

5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Compelling Fantasy March 26, 2013

By James Dibenedetto

Format:Paperback

Aoife Sheridan’s Eden Forest was a very compelling and exciting read. It’s the story of Sarajane Anderson, a young woman from “our” world who’s recently lost her mother and isn’t quite able to accept that she’s really dead.

Sarajane’s life takes a turn when she’s kidnapped and brought to an alternate, “fantasy” world called Saskia, a world of elemental magic, immortals, and court politics and intrigue.

As Sarajane struggles to understand this new world, she slowly discovers that she might have a destiny there, and that Saskia holds answers to questions she never even knew she had.

Sarajane is a likeable and relatable heroine; her journey from Earth to Saskia is believable – she comes to accept this new world and its differences, but not quickly, and not without reservations. Many authors have trouble with this kind of story, but Sheridan makes
Sarajane’s transition seem natural and logical.

Besides Sarajane, all the supporting characters are well-drawn and interesting, especially Sarajane’s mother Marta, and her servant Alana. The worldbuilding is consistent and very interesting, and there are surprises all through the book (and, I imagine, in the subsequent books of this trilogy).

The prose is clear and readable, and it worked especially well for me as I’m a fan of first-person narration (the book is all in first-person, and we get a few scenes from the viewpoint of other characters besides Sarajane). There’s a fair anount of action, quite a bit of intrigue, some very dark moments, and a good bit of romance as well.

I’d highly recommend this book, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of this trilogy!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping adventure, March 16, 2013

By 

Virginia – See all my reviews

This review is from: Eden Forest: Part one of the Saskia Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)

First let me say, I received a copy of Eden Forest for honest review.
Set in the fantasy world of Saskia, mortal 21 year old Sarajane begins her journey with hopes of discovering her true destiny. Now let’s not forget the world of Saskia is a repressed kingdom where four banished angels live. (something to think about) The inhabitants of Saskia are blessed with unusual elemental abilities which help determine their duties. The governing rulers, the Guardians watch over the people and make sure their jobs are done correctly and in a timely manner. Marriages are arranged for the residents every twenty five years. Ms. Sheridan has done an amazing job building her believable fantasy world. Planting Sarajane in this world only builds to the excitement. Change is inevitable.
The story moves along quickly, keeping the younger readers attention. Adventure, dark moments, with a little bit of romance and suspense will keep you turning pages until the end. But that’s not the end of Sarajane or the adventure. Can’t wait to get my hands on the second installment of the Saskia Trilogy.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A new twist in story telling, March 8, 2013

By 

Bruce Goldwell “Author” (Florida) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Eden Forest: Part one of the Saskia Trilogy (Volume 1) (Paperback)

I am giving this book five stars because the story that Aoife has created uses some new scenarios and twist never before undertaken as well as others that have been used before but with a new twist. There were moments when I would cringe while reading (gory may be too strong a word but horrifying definitely) and others when I was anticipating what the outcome would be. When I can feel emotions reading a book then my interest is heightened and I feel the time spent reading has been worth it. This is a book worth reading and one I would recommend to others. Keep going Aoife, this new fan is looking forward to reading your future books.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal Wonder 

By MamaSwede

Format:Kindle Edition

I promise not to give away any spoilers but this book was absolutely fantastic! I’m a tough nut to crack when it comes to paranormal type books. They need to be written a certain way and Aoife Marie Sheridan did an amazing job. It was written beautifully and I fell in love with the characters immediately. I am looking forward to the second book.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A new world of Paranormal 

By Cortie Cain

Format:Kindle Edition

Aoife brings something different to the world of paranormal books. When Sarajanes mother goes missing, her and Josh, her best friend, search for her every Sunday. Everyone believes the worst but Sarajane feels her mother is still out there, so she keeps looking. While everyone is trying to act happy and move on there is still the heaviness of losing their mother/wife in the house. Josh has asked Sarajane to the ball, he wants to get her mind off her mother for a little while, and he also wants to confess his love to her. Things are about to change when a man Sarajane has never met comes up to her and asked her dance. Tristan has been sent to find Sarajane to bring her to where her mother has been all this time. Sarajane is about to discover, advanture, love, loss, and her destiny.

For me the beginning of the book was a little slow, but it picked up fast and I didn’t want to put it down. I think that Aoife did a great job on describing the world of Saskia and brought me right there beside Sarajane on her journey. There was a few times I was left wanting to know more about some characters but maybe that will come in the next book. Sarajane is a strong willed woman and will stop at nothing to save the people she loves. I think that is part of why I loved this book so much. I did want to smack the King up side the head a few times though, but I guess that is part of why he makes a good king.

This book was given to me by the Author for my honest review

Other Work: City of Secrets (Part two of the Saskia Trilogy) Coming Soon

 

Mini Interview:

When did you first start writing?

I have always written but mostly poetry, it’s always been my way to deal with my emotions, no matter how big or small. Two years ago I lost two people I was close too. I had never lost anyone before, so I didn’t deal very well with it. One night I had a dream of a man and women on a horse, passing through a wall of fire. The dream lingered with me, as did my grief. So instead of writing poetry I started my story. My starting point was my dream and I worked my way from there. Eden Forest helped me once again deal with death, and all that comes with it. So in a way I am very grateful for this story.

I always wondered why God created us and what was our purpose, but those questions are unanswered. So in my story I give you the answers for this world called Saskia. In the story God creates a world parallel to ours, for four fallen angels.

Death is something that I also question now, like why do we die, is 60 to 90yrs of life enough, imagine having immortality what would one do to gain it? And that’s where a lot of my plot lies. The greed for immortality, for power’s that only God should wield, drives Saskia into war.

God decides to give one person all the powers that anyone could possess to banish evil, before it destroys Saskia and Earth. This one person happens to be a young lady called Sarajane Anderson who lives in the mortal world (Earth) but is actually from Saskia. 

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to be an accountant, and qualified as an accountant technician. Funny, some change in job. 

What drew you to writing fantasy stories? 

I write about the impossible, of different worlds that have magic in them. I always feel this can’t be it. All us on this little planet, floating in the galaxy, there has to be so much more. We just haven’t discovered it yet. Maybe in a couple of hundred years people will look back and say “They know all along that there was more”. Well that’s what I like to think.

What has your experience been like publishing with Synerg e-books? 

This company has published my e-book and I found Debi and her team very helpful, they made everything move easily. Also Debi promotes but helps authors understand what they need to promote themselves also. 

What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

Tough question but Chapter seven I loved writing the first moment with Tristan and Sarajane. Its brief the smallest gesture of kindness from him, but coming from him it means a lot.

Where is your favourite place to write?

At my parents’ house, they live in the country surrounded by fields and just beautiful landscape so I love to escape to there, and just get lost with my writing.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? 

The only thing that has become routine is that, I write everything with pencil and paper before typing it up.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? 

Names and places are mostly Latin I don’t really know, the name just feels right I have a list of Latin names for boys and girls and I just go through them, when it feels right I use it. As far as Places they are also Latin but with meanings example: Luxpagus means fire town or Aquaterra means water village. 

For some characters when I pick the Latin I do so on the meaning, like Taurus he is a big man, a bully in my eyes and Taurus means Bull in Latin. 

Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? 

I learned so much about myself mostly that I have far more patience then I thought. Also I need to travel more, weird one but I haven’t been many places outside Ireland, and developing a new world opened my eyes to this. 

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

One year as I only do this in my spare time, so a year to write a book, but there are still edits to be done and that all takes a few months. 

Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

Amazing, I stared at it, so unsure was this really mine? did I actually write a book?. It’s a moment in my life that has been placed at the top of BEST MOMENTS EVER. 

Who are some of your favourite authors? 

  • Marie V. Snyder
  • Kelly Armstrong
  • Dan Brown

Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? 

No because I don’t write unless I have something to write about, lol that’s one way of never having writers block. I have never sat down and said okay today we write, I only write if I want to I never force it. 

What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Have patience and plenty of it. Also the best advice that anyone could give you is if you are an indie author invest money in editing your book, make sure it’s polished that is vital. 

Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

Hmmmm No. 🙂

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Aoife Marie Sheridan. This book sounds rather exciting.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Aoife Marie Sheridan please write them in the comments section below.

3 thoughts on “Author Profile – Aoife Marie Sheridan

  1. Pingback: Tour Stop: Eden Forest (Saskia Trilogy #1) by Aiofe Marie Sheridan | Why I Can't stop Reading

Please leave a comment

