Author Profile – Jacqueline Driggers

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Jacqueline!

Find her writing for free on wattpad at the current time

http://www.wattpad.com/JacquelineDriggers

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

Back in high school.  I started with poetry.

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be? 

Yes, I have.  I wanted to be a writer when I graduated from high school back in 1979, but the publishing world was a different place then.

3        What genre do you write?

I write science fiction

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?  

Various things.  They can be inspired by a news story or a moment in a movie or a line or just a picture.

5        What has your experience been like publishing

Haven’t used any.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why? 

They’re all my favourites.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?  

At my desk in our office here at home.

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair? 

At my desk, no music; and that’s about it.

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer?   

Computer all the way.

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? 

I just think them up.  I’ll sit and stare at the pictures on the wall above my desk, and start my mind to working.

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it? 

Haven’t finished it yet, so I’ll let you know later.

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it? 

Haven’t finished one yet, but haven’t had a lot of free time for writing.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time? 

Still waiting for that one.

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

H.G. Wells, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kris Austen Radcliffe

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? 

For years, I had no luck at writing fiction; then one day the floodgates opened.  Don’t know exactly why.  As for getting past it, my advice is to do something else for a bit.  Get away from what you are working on.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer? 

Start with creating a writers page on facebook.  Then get on wattpad and share your writing there.  Take advantage of any and every opportunity to promote yourself.  Post on your page weekly at least.  Have Microsoft office on your computer – word, excel, and onenote.  I especially love onenote.  Make notes of bits of info you run across.  Be patient, and be prepared to work.  It’s highly unlikely you’ll become an overnight success.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us? 

I don’t really have any deep dark secrets.  I guess about the closest I have is my love for teddy bears.  My hubby and I have over 2,000; and no, that isn’t a typo.  They fill our house with fuzzy, friendly faces.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you. Look out for her books in the future.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Jacqueline please write them in the comments section below.

Links

My website: http://emforjd.wix.com/jdwrite

My writer’s page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jdswrpg

One thought on “Author Profile – Jacqueline Driggers

Please leave a comment

