Clemy Warner – MIRAGE Tour!

C Warner-Thompson

C Warner-Thompson

Author Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

A week before my 13th birthday, I’ll never forget it!

2        Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to be a vet, I loved animals and wanted to help them, but then I had my work experience in a dogs kennel… let’s just say, I changed my mind almost immediately.

3        What drew you to writing young adult stories?

I always said I’d write for people the same age as what I was at the time, but now that I am in my twenties, I’ve just stuck with what I know and that is definitely YA.

4        Where does your inspiration for these stories come from?

Good question. Maybe somewhere inside of me there is a battle going on between my Light and Darkness, after all, each and every story I write is about the elements and how people seem to struggle with choosing a side… I guess we’ll see J

5        What has your experience been like publishing with Lulu.com? 

Great, it’s straight forward and simple to follow. I’ve always used Lulu and will continue to, unless of course, a very kind publishing company wants to speak to me!!

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why?

I always love writing the final chapter. I usually know from the very first page what is going to happen at the very end, so when I get there it’s like my fingers come alive and the ending turns out just as I expected. The end chapter of New Beginnings, the last of my first series, is something that I keep going back to. I keep reading it, over and over; it gives me goose bumps all the time because I know that that was exactly where I wanted my characters to end up! Nothing quite feels the same as knowing your characters have the ending they deserve.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?

I have a tiny office with a massive window. I don’t write anywhere else J

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

Not really. I used to write with music playing but the older I get, the more it seems to distract me… weird!

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your first draft or are you a pen and paper writer? 

Its only recently have I started to use a computer. I used to hand write everything, and then type it all up whilst editing and drafting through the story. Now, I type directly onto the PC. It’s faster, but you have to be more careful about your files and keeping them backed up!

 

10   How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I have no idea. Honestly, I wake up one day and think ‘oh that’s a good name!’ but I have no idea where the initial name comes from. When I hadn’t been writing long, I used to use words around me and just change the letters around or shorten/lengthen the word. For example, the Goddess Eblas from my first series is a mix up of ‘treble’ and ‘bass’ (from my speakers)

11   Did you learn anything from writing your book?  What was it?

The more I write, the more I realise how similar my main characters and I are! It’s scary sometimes. I read back a scene and think ‘that sounds just like me’…

12   How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

My first 3 books took 7 years to plan, write, edit and re-write. A very very long time, I assure you. But The Star only took my about 10 months, The Mirage was about the same too. It makes a nice change 🙂

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published book for the first time?

It’s something you can’t explain. You have to feel it for yourself.

14   Who are some of your favourite authors? 

Alyson Noel, Lauren Kate and Christopher Paulini.

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”?

Yes, I have definitely suffered from Writer’s block. It’s horrible when you have so much to write but your brain gets in the way! Sometimes I just have to wait for it to go away, but other times if I’m determined enough, I just plough through it and write, no matter how hard it is!

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?

Don’t give up. Never, ever, give up.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

Deep, Dark secret huh? Erm.. I’m not really the type to have dark secrets. I know that’s really boring. *leans in close and whispers* but I do have grey hair, already!!! I’m only 22!

Mirage by Clemy Warner

Mirage by Clemy Warner

Mirage Blurb:

Abbii can’t remember a time when Shadows weren’t chasing her.

Everywhere she goes they are there, hunting her down.

Since discovering the magical powers in her grasp, she has fought against members of the Forgotten- those pulled into Darkness willingly- and her friends have fallen into danger. Innocent people have lost their lives and the Shadows have spread. Abbii’s friends have fought to remain by her side, but something inside of her has changed.

She is filled with regret and pain of losing her best friend Jake, though she keeps it hidden well- not even Nate can see the damage. Her lack of emotion pushes him to leave and he is thrown into his own spiralling destiny.

Abbii has a choice- to stay by her friends’ sides and fight to protect their home, or leave the realm she knows and search for those that she has lost. Her heart is broken but her friends cannot help her. She has to choose between searching for Jake in the Dark, or whether to return to Nate’s side and keep the Light burning brightly.

The question is, will Light be able to save her from the Darkness within?

Author Bio:

Clemy was born in the UK in 1991 where she still lives, growing up alongside one younger and three older brothers.

Books and writing was an interest that she began to develop from the first years of secondary school, and on her thirteenth birthday, she began to plan and design the idea to write a fantasy novel. She finished secondary school with high GCSE’s and then went on into further education to study English and all aspects of art and design. After six years of writing, planning and overall editing of the book, it was successfully completed, containing over 82,000 words, and self published in the first week of 2011.

With high expectations in herself, she immediately began to write a second novel in the series, while keeping her art and design a part of the process. The achievement of completing the first novel ‘Purest Light,’ allowed the ideas of the second to flow much easier and it was completed by early 2012. As she was writing the third and final book, New Beginnings, at the same time, the series was finished by its publication in 2013.

Writing is now a part of her everyday and she has now started her newest project, The Mirage, which is book two of three.

Link:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClemyWarnerThompson

Twitter: https://twitter.com/clemychum

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5328411.Clemy_Warner_Thompson

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/CWarnerThompson

Lulu: http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=&keyWords=c.warner-thompson&x=1&y=2&sitesearch=lulu.com&q=

 

Buy links:

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/374444

Lulu: http://www.lulu.com/shop/clemy-warner-thompson/the-mirage/paperback/product-21293477.html

ClemyTour

ClemyTour

Around the Universe Blog Tours

Around the Universe Blog Tours

One thought on “Clemy Warner – MIRAGE Tour!

Please leave a comment

