Poet Profile – Cindy J. Smith

Hi Everyone,

Here is the next in my Author Profiling posts!

Please welcome Cindy J. Smith!

They Won't Shut Up by Cindy J. Smith

They Won’t Shut Up by Cindy J. Smith

Title: They Won’t Shut Up
Author:  Cindy J. Smith

Genre: Poetry

Blurb:

Voices in my Head

Talk all of the time

To music I feel

They add rhythm and rhyme

 

Emotions take flight

Grief, despair and love

Heart seeks to find hope

On wings of a dove

 

Their view of this world

Both nature and man

New angle embellished

To help understand

 

Walk for a minute

In other guys shoes

See why they might feel

So lost and confused

 

Dreams, flights of fancy,

Sarcasm and light pun

Work through frustrations

To friendship and fun

 

Open myself wide

Feel pure empathy

See how this world could

With love, truly be

Listen with your soul

To songs that I share

May see way to change

This world if you dare

Release Date: 08/13/2013
Where to buy: 

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/qjcx8wf

AmazonUK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00DW3T1JS

Mini Interview:

1        When did you first start writing?

I have written all my life.

2        Did you always want to be a poet? If not what did you want to be? 

Writing poetry is something I always have done.  Sharing my poetry is something I never thought I would do.  I always wanted to work with people, either the elderly or children.  However, I am a Truck Driver and a Poet.

3        What drew you to writing poems? 

I was probably drawn to poetry by the exposure I received from my sisters.  They were always singing silly songs or reading me nursery rhymes and Dr. Seuss when I was small.  I guess I just got used to thinking in rhyme.

4        Where does your inspiration for these poems come from?  

This I am not really sure how to answer.  The poems usually just come into my head out of the blue.  I am able, usually, to write if someone asks me for a poem.  I can even sometimes find one from what I see.

5        What has your experience been like publishing with Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing?

 It has been an awesome experience!  I published my first book through a POD and I was driven crazy.  CHBB is one big family, they support each other and are willing to share advice.

6        What was your favourite chapter to write and why? 

The Visions in my Mind section is the most fun.  I get to play with unicorns and dragons.  A bit of a break from an emotional ride.

7        Where is your favourite place to write?  

 I write in my head while I am driving.  I use a voice recorder to keep the poems.

8        Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? i.e. You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

 Nope, the poems come when they want to.  When I try to force a topic, I get nothing.

9        Do you use a computer/laptop for your poems or are you a pen and paper writer?     

I use a voice recorder then type.  My handwriting is so bad that sometimes even I can’t read it. 

10   How do you come up with the themes for your poems? 

My theme for all my poems is just life. 

11   Did you learn anything from writing your poems?  What was it? 

You can say anything in rhyme and not offend anyone.  They will either get the message or think it is cute.  It is a great way to find balance in my life.

12   How long does it usually take you to write a poem, from the original idea to finishing writing it? 

The poems usually come into my head completely done.  If it is a request, I may have to think about it for a while but never more than a day.

13   Can you describe the feeling you had when you saw your published poem/s for the first time? 

Shock.  My daughter had sent my poem into a contest and I was very surprised when they chose to print it.  I am still shocked that people actually like them.

14   Who are some of your favourite poets?    

Dr. Seuss, William Blake and Shakespeare.

15   Have you ever suffered from a “writer’s block”? What did you do to get past the “block”? 

After my daughter passed and I wrote her eulogy, I stopped writing.  Friends got me to open up again.

16   What piece of advice would you give to a new writer/poet? 

Write to please yourself.  You cannot please everyone so be sure you say what you want them to say.

17   Would you share a deep dark secret about you with us?

Deep dark secret, hm.  Not sure how dark it is but I hate driving a truck.  The pay is good but driving can be pretty scary.

 

Thank you for letting us get to know you and your books, Cindy. The poems sound lovely.

Everyone, please remember any questions or suggestions for Cindy please write them in the comments section below.

5 thoughts on “Poet Profile – Cindy J. Smith

  1. Pingback: Its been so much fun to write poems. | ripples in the midnight sky...

Please leave a comment